Search Results: "Sylvie Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE by Jennifer Sattler
ANIMALS
Released: May 26, 2009

"David Shannon's A Bad Case of Stripes (1998) for the younger set, this will be a hit in just about every setting. (Picture book. 3-7)"
"You are what you eat" is more than just a saying for Sylvie the flamingo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS SYLVIE by Elsa Beskow
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Old-fashioned in all the senses of the word, but quite charming in its art-deco shapes and vintage colors; Sylvie and her dog and her dad will probably find themselves well-known once again. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A beloved Swedish author's picture books are finding their way into English more than 85 years after their original publication. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GO BACK TO SLEEP by Sylvie Jones
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Cute despite its flaws. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A little boy goes through his bedtime routine with his toy animals, but must do it again in reverse when their ruckus wakes him up in the middle of the night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE & TRUE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 20, 2007

"Full of gentle warmth and humor and accompanied by McPhail's always appealing watercolors, this is a selection perfect for reading aloud and for young readers comfortable with reading on their own. (Picture book. 4-7)"
In the tradition of Frog and Toad come Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a snake, best friends who share a city apartment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JASPER JONES by Craig Silvey
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 12, 2011

"A richly rewarding exploration of truth and lies by a masterful storyteller. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Charlie is catapulted into adulthood when Jasper Jones knocks on his window on a blisteringly hot Australian night and leads him to a hidden glade where a girl is hanging from a tree, bruised and bloody. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKIPPYJON JONES by Judy Schachner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Both feline hero and story are full of beans (more Mexican-jumping than pinto) but ay caramba, mucho fun. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Skippyjon Jones insists he's not a Siamese cat despite ears too big for his head and a head too big for his body. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHUCK JONES by Hugh Kenner
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1994

"The other two are Greg Sarris's Mabel McKay: Weaving the Dream, profiling the Pomo basket weaver and medicine woman, and Yvonne Fern's Gene Roddenberry: The Last Conversation, a discussion with the creator of Star Trek."
Dr. Seuss created the Grinch, but it took Chuck Jones to make him move. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE WRITES A ROMANCE by Melissa Burovac
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 8, 2016

"A feel-good romantic comedy with a resilient heroine."
If she's ever going to write her romance novel, Sylvie Jacobsen concludes that she will need to get in touch with her wild side. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE AND THE SONGMAN by Tim Binding
ADVENTURE
Released: Aug. 11, 2009

"An unfortunate early reference—to the villainous Woodpecker Man's 'black' fingers and hands before readers know he's not human—aside, this is an exceptionally honed story with levels of depth. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
This finely tuned adventure opens with William Blake's "The Tyger" and lives up to that reference in surprisingly accessible ways. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONSTELLATION OF SYLVIE by Roderick Townley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2006

"As clever and captivating as its predecessors, this tale-about-a-tale will please fans of N.E. Bode's The Anybodies (2004) and its ilk. (Fiction. 11-13)"
In this third outing, the fictional but animate characters inhabiting The Great Good Thing (2001) find themselves headed for Jupiter, thanks to a switched dust jacket. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FEARLESS JONES by Walter Mosley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2001

Even before sultry Elana Love walks into mild-mannered Paris Minton's life three months after his Watts bookstore opens, Mosley can't resist his signature scene: A pair of cops stroll into the shop determined to push Paris around just because he's a black man and it's 1954. Read full book review >