Search Results: "Sylvie Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE by Jennifer Sattler
ANIMALS
Released: May 26, 2009

"David Shannon's A Bad Case of Stripes (1998) for the younger set, this will be a hit in just about every setting. (Picture book. 3-7)"
"You are what you eat" is more than just a saying for Sylvie the flamingo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS SYLVIE by Elsa Beskow
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Old-fashioned in all the senses of the word, but quite charming in its art-deco shapes and vintage colors; Sylvie and her dog and her dad will probably find themselves well-known once again. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A beloved Swedish author's picture books are finding their way into English more than 85 years after their original publication. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GO BACK TO SLEEP by Sylvie Jones
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Cute despite its flaws. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A little boy goes through his bedtime routine with his toy animals, but must do it again in reverse when their ruckus wakes him up in the middle of the night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE & TRUE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 20, 2007

"Full of gentle warmth and humor and accompanied by McPhail's always appealing watercolors, this is a selection perfect for reading aloud and for young readers comfortable with reading on their own. (Picture book. 4-7)"
In the tradition of Frog and Toad come Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a snake, best friends who share a city apartment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JASPER JONES by Craig Silvey
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 12, 2011

"A richly rewarding exploration of truth and lies by a masterful storyteller. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Charlie is catapulted into adulthood when Jasper Jones knocks on his window on a blisteringly hot Australian night and leads him to a hidden glade where a girl is hanging from a tree, bruised and bloody. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SKIPPYJON JONES by Judy Schachner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"Both feline hero and story are full of beans (more Mexican-jumping than pinto) but ay caramba, mucho fun. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Skippyjon Jones insists he's not a Siamese cat despite ears too big for his head and a head too big for his body. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHUCK JONES by Hugh Kenner
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1994

"The other two are Greg Sarris's Mabel McKay: Weaving the Dream, profiling the Pomo basket weaver and medicine woman, and Yvonne Fern's Gene Roddenberry: The Last Conversation, a discussion with the creator of Star Trek."
Dr. Seuss created the Grinch, but it took Chuck Jones to make him move. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"Many of the jokes work, but too often Kelly seems like a desperate comedian, pulling out joy buzzers and chattering teeth and one rubber chicken too many. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
It's hard to believe a book could contain too many chickens, but this novel may test readers' patience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEDUSA JONES by Ross Collins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"Would work especially well alongside a unit on Greek mythology. (Fiction. 8-12)"
A fast-paced and funny middle-school drama about popularity and teasing with a mythological twist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOTHER JONES by Elliott J. Gorn
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2001

"Amid the current concerns over global labor exploitation, this is a timely, unromanticized reminder that human suffering has accompanied industrial change in the past, and that people fought to ameliorate it."
A stimulating biography of the pugnacious labor organizer that sheds light on radical movements while questioning the myth-making machine that surrounds great figures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAPSCALLION JONES by James Marshall
Released: Oct. 1, 1983

"Trite and lame."
Some hollow flimflam about an aging, needy fox who decides to become a writer. Read full book review >