Search Results: "Sylvie Matton"


BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE by Jennifer Sattler
ANIMALS
Released: May 26, 2009

"David Shannon's A Bad Case of Stripes (1998) for the younger set, this will be a hit in just about every setting. (Picture book. 3-7)"
"You are what you eat" is more than just a saying for Sylvie the flamingo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REMBRANDT’S WHORE by Sylvie Matton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 20, 2002

"Fans of Chevalier's Girl With a Pearl Earring may snatch this one up, but in truth it seems less suited for a general audience than for Rembrandt enthusiasts."
Financial insecurity and the Plague hover threateningly over the great artist and his beloved servant, narrator of this sad and obtuse tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS SYLVIE by Elsa Beskow
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Old-fashioned in all the senses of the word, but quite charming in its art-deco shapes and vintage colors; Sylvie and her dog and her dad will probably find themselves well-known once again. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A beloved Swedish author's picture books are finding their way into English more than 85 years after their original publication. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE & TRUE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 20, 2007

"Full of gentle warmth and humor and accompanied by McPhail's always appealing watercolors, this is a selection perfect for reading aloud and for young readers comfortable with reading on their own. (Picture book. 4-7)"
In the tradition of Frog and Toad come Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a snake, best friends who share a city apartment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE WRITES A ROMANCE by Melissa Burovac
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 8, 2016

"A feel-good romantic comedy with a resilient heroine."
If she's ever going to write her romance novel, Sylvie Jacobsen concludes that she will need to get in touch with her wild side. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE AND THE SONGMAN by Tim Binding
ADVENTURE
Released: Aug. 11, 2009

"An unfortunate early reference—to the villainous Woodpecker Man's 'black' fingers and hands before readers know he's not human—aside, this is an exceptionally honed story with levels of depth. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
This finely tuned adventure opens with William Blake's "The Tyger" and lives up to that reference in surprisingly accessible ways. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONSTELLATION OF SYLVIE by Roderick Townley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2006

"As clever and captivating as its predecessors, this tale-about-a-tale will please fans of N.E. Bode's The Anybodies (2004) and its ilk. (Fiction. 11-13)"
In this third outing, the fictional but animate characters inhabiting The Great Good Thing (2001) find themselves headed for Jupiter, thanks to a switched dust jacket. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE YOU, MISTER BEAR by Sylvie Wickstrom
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Arranged into three discrete mini-episodes, this girl-meets-bear tale is told in simple cartoons over brief snatches of monologue, with a charm that perfectly captures that special relationship and should please all young listeners deeply attached to their plush companions. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Wickstrom draws inspiration from her own family for a Corduroy-like episode featuring a child and a bear with a boo-boo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VERY TINY BABY by Sylvie Kantorovitz
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 25, 2014

"A laudably candid effort, unafraid to treat its readership with the utmost respect. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Just because a book fills a need, that doesn't guarantee its quality; fortunately, this book both addresses premature birth and succeeds marvelously. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 11, 2012

"Taking on a looming subject with intelligence and wit, Simmons manages to take the full measure of her man."
An elegant, deeply researched life of the Canadian musician, poet and novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZIG AND THE MAGIC UMBRELLA by Sylvie Kantorovitz
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 17, 2015

"For all its seeming strangeness, a comforting and familiar tale about a journey that ends in companionship and contentment. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A magic umbrella transports Zig to a faraway place where adventure and friendship await. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF NIGHTS by Sylvie Germain
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 1993

"Sometimes short on inner energy, but, overall, a gloriously beautiful, gem-studded tapestry of human desire and suffering."
Germain's sixth book is her first to appear in English: a poetic saga that sweeps its way through a century of French history by following the generations of a symbol-rich family. Read full book review >