Search Results: "Sylvie Simmons"


BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE by Jennifer Sattler
ANIMALS
Released: May 26, 2009

"David Shannon's A Bad Case of Stripes (1998) for the younger set, this will be a hit in just about every setting. (Picture book. 3-7)"
"You are what you eat" is more than just a saying for Sylvie the flamingo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 11, 2012

"Taking on a looming subject with intelligence and wit, Simmons manages to take the full measure of her man."
An elegant, deeply researched life of the Canadian musician, poet and novelist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOO WEIRD FOR ZIGGY by Sylvie Simmons
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2004

"A keen-eyed depiction of the rock netherworld's denizens is sabotaged by too many over-the-top scenarios."
A practiced observer offers frantic fictions of rock 'n' roll madness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS SYLVIE by Elsa Beskow
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Old-fashioned in all the senses of the word, but quite charming in its art-deco shapes and vintage colors; Sylvie and her dog and her dad will probably find themselves well-known once again. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A beloved Swedish author's picture books are finding their way into English more than 85 years after their original publication. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE & TRUE by David McPhail
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 20, 2007

"Full of gentle warmth and humor and accompanied by McPhail's always appealing watercolors, this is a selection perfect for reading aloud and for young readers comfortable with reading on their own. (Picture book. 4-7)"
In the tradition of Frog and Toad come Sylvie, a rabbit, and True, a snake, best friends who share a city apartment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 26, 1996

"We breathe the exhalations of the trees, and as Lembke testifies, they fuel a hundred more poetic concerns. (line drawings, not seen)"
Arboreal musings—learned, canny, homespun, graceful—from one of our better natural history writers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 12, 1993

"Unless you're one of Simmons's clients, it's hard to imagine reading straight through all 40 cases; but just as crowds apparently turn out to greet the famous shape-changer on his visits, you can count on followers seeking inspiration from these upbeat reports."
The word from experts is that lost weight rarely stays off, but TV fitness-guru and bestselling diet-book author Simmons (Richard Simmons' Better Body Book, 1983, etc.) never gives up on those desperate souls who write to him in despair, then successfully shed pounds in his program—or so he says. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE WRITES A ROMANCE by Melissa Burovac
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 8, 2016

"A feel-good romantic comedy with a resilient heroine."
If she's ever going to write her romance novel, Sylvie Jacobsen concludes that she will need to get in touch with her wild side. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYLVIE AND THE SONGMAN by Tim Binding
ADVENTURE
Released: Aug. 11, 2009

"An unfortunate early reference—to the villainous Woodpecker Man's 'black' fingers and hands before readers know he's not human—aside, this is an exceptionally honed story with levels of depth. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
This finely tuned adventure opens with William Blake's "The Tyger" and lives up to that reference in surprisingly accessible ways. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONSTELLATION OF SYLVIE by Roderick Townley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2006

"As clever and captivating as its predecessors, this tale-about-a-tale will please fans of N.E. Bode's The Anybodies (2004) and its ilk. (Fiction. 11-13)"
In this third outing, the fictional but animate characters inhabiting The Great Good Thing (2001) find themselves headed for Jupiter, thanks to a switched dust jacket. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VOYAGE OF LUCY P. SIMMONS by Barbara Mariconda
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Adventurous possibilities await in a necessary second installment. (Historical fantasy. 8-12)"
Magic helps an orphaned heiress fight a rapacious uncle out to steal the family fortune. Read full book review >