Search Results: "Tahar Ben Jelloun"


BOOK REVIEW

CORRUPTION by Tahar Ben Jelloun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

A brief, intensely focused portrayal of moral and psychological dissolution, by the Prix Goncourtwinning Moroccanborn novelist (With Downcast Eyes, 1993, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLINDING ABSENCE OF LIGHT by Tahar Ben Jelloun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2002

"The story's sensibility and emphases seem at times inalienably remote, but whenever Ben Jelloun focuses on Salim's (quite universal) imagined continuing relation with the world from which he has been in effect exiled, it exudes a very nearly Dostoevskyan concentration and power."
This semi-documentary novel from the Moroccan-born author of The Sacred Night (1989) and The Sand Child (1987) joins the long list of prison books descended from Dostoevsky's The House of the Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PALACE IN THE OLD VILLAGE by Tahar Ben Jelloun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 25, 2011

"Poignant meditation on the enduring lure of home and the cost of being left behind."
After decades in France, a Moroccan immigrant yearns to return to his native village. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WITH DOWNCAST EYES by Tahar Ben Jelloun
Released: May 7, 1993

"Despite flights of fantasy that are too lush and too many: an affecting mood portrait of loss and the burden of memory."
From North African and Goncourt Prize-winner Ben Jelloun (The Sacred Night; Silent Day in Tangier): a lyrical, often allegorical evocation of exile—``that long and interminable night of solitude''—that's interrupted by brusque intrusions of reality that don't quite jibe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISLAM EXPLAINED by Tahar Ben Jelloun
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 10, 2002

"Ben Jelloun has chosen an Islam of harmony, tolerance, humility, and love of knowledge. Others have chosen a different interpretation. Ben Jelloun's seems a good one to teach your children."
"My Islam Explained" might be a more apt title for these gleanings from Islam that have inspired Ben Jelloun (The Blinding Absence of Light, 2002, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST FRIEND by Tahar Ben Jelloun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2006

"A gentle, intelligent exercise in nihilism: Life, Jelloun seems to say with a pained smile, is hardly worth discussing."
In this consideration of the meaning of friendship, desertion and lies become an expression of loyalty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >