Search Results: "Tahar Ben Jelloun"


BOOK REVIEW

CORRUPTION by Tahar Ben Jelloun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

A brief, intensely focused portrayal of moral and psychological dissolution, by the Prix Goncourtwinning Moroccanborn novelist (With Downcast Eyes, 1993, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLINDING ABSENCE OF LIGHT by Tahar Ben Jelloun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2002

"The story's sensibility and emphases seem at times inalienably remote, but whenever Ben Jelloun focuses on Salim's (quite universal) imagined continuing relation with the world from which he has been in effect exiled, it exudes a very nearly Dostoevskyan concentration and power."
This semi-documentary novel from the Moroccan-born author of The Sacred Night (1989) and The Sand Child (1987) joins the long list of prison books descended from Dostoevsky's The House of the Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PALACE IN THE OLD VILLAGE by Tahar Ben Jelloun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 25, 2011

"Poignant meditation on the enduring lure of home and the cost of being left behind."
After decades in France, a Moroccan immigrant yearns to return to his native village. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISLAM EXPLAINED by Tahar Ben Jelloun
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 10, 2002

"Ben Jelloun has chosen an Islam of harmony, tolerance, humility, and love of knowledge. Others have chosen a different interpretation. Ben Jelloun's seems a good one to teach your children."
"My Islam Explained" might be a more apt title for these gleanings from Islam that have inspired Ben Jelloun (The Blinding Absence of Light, 2002, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WITH DOWNCAST EYES by Tahar Ben Jelloun
Released: May 7, 1993

"Despite flights of fantasy that are too lush and too many: an affecting mood portrait of loss and the burden of memory."
From North African and Goncourt Prize-winner Ben Jelloun (The Sacred Night; Silent Day in Tangier): a lyrical, often allegorical evocation of exile—``that long and interminable night of solitude''—that's interrupted by brusque intrusions of reality that don't quite jibe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST FRIEND by Tahar Ben Jelloun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 2, 2006

"A gentle, intelligent exercise in nihilism: Life, Jelloun seems to say with a pained smile, is hardly worth discussing."
In this consideration of the meaning of friendship, desertion and lies become an expression of loyalty. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JAMES PARKS AND BEN COSTA
by Alex Heimbach

“A skeleton and a slime walk into a bar…” That may sound like the wind up to a very nerdy joke, but it’s actually the set up for a scene in James Parks and Ben Costa’s new YA graphic novel, Rickety Stitch and the Gelatinous Goo: The Road to Epoli, which, to be fair, is full of very nerdy — ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST SUMMER OF REASON by Tahar Djaout
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"Though these and other bleak reflections on fundamentalist society remain as legacy, the stilling of Djaout's humanist voice is a loss to the larger literary world as much as to his embattled homeland."
Prize-winning novelist and poet Djaout was assassinated in 1993 by Islamic fundamentalists in his native Algeria, leaving this very short novel, a painful rumination on the death of the spirit in a repressive society, among his papers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WATCHERS by Tahar Djaout
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"No one will miss the message here, but Djaout has also given us a story as steeped in the beauty of North Africa as in the darkness threatening those who call it home."
The first English translation of this 1991 winner of the French Prix Mediterranée, whose author was assassinated in 1993 by Islamic extremists in Algeria, follows publication of Djaout's remarkable The Last Summer of Reason (2001) and further shows the loss literature has sustained. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG! by Ben Mantle
by Ben Mantle, illustrated by Ben Mantle
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"While the covers of both titles suggest lots of interaction, the pages within fail to deliver the goods. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An ode to various kinds of hugs as enacted by various animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TABLE SETS ITSELF by Ben Clanton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"Clanton makes chores a delight! (Picture book. 4-8)"
A young girl receives a new responsibility, but when the prized task becomes a boring duty, she and her tableware friends must find a way to keep things fresh and funny in this winning tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Imaginative and utterly bewitching. (Graphic science fiction. 9-12)"
Lovable Zita returns in a charmingly dashing interplanetary adventure to save yet another doomed planet from impending peril. Read full book review >