Search Results: "Talia Carner"


BOOK REVIEW

HOTEL MOSCOW by Talia Carner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 2, 2015

"Still, the novel sheds much-needed light on this turbulent period in Russian history."
An American investment adviser, on a mission to counsel businesswomen in post-glasnost Russia, encounters corruption, organized crime, and extreme sexism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JERUSALEM MAIDEN by Talia Carner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 31, 2011

"A welcome glimpse into a little-understood world."
A young woman struggles against strict Orthodox traditions to realize her inner artist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TALIA by C.J. Quinn
Released: Aug. 26, 2015

"A promising first installment of a fantasy series about saving two worlds that needs to evolve to become fully realistic and unreservedly magical."
A debut middle-grade novel features magical lands, childhood adventure, guardian spirits, and the love of family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TALIA TALK by Christine Hurley Deriso
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2008

"With friendship at its core and an eye on the latest teen tech phenomena, this text is spunky and fun. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Starting middle school is tough, but when Talia gets stuck in a tug-of-war that tears her usually happy foursome of friends into two warring factions, things only get worse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TALIA AND THE RUDE VEGETABLES by Linda Elovitz Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"A charming fall story loosely structured by Judaic concepts. (recipe) (Picture book. 4-6)"
A little girl's misunderstanding, the harvesting of some root vegetables and a recipe for stew merge for an amusing Jewish New Year story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TALIA AND THE VERY YUM KIPPUR by Linda Elovitz Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"Both a loving family story and a deft introduction to the significance of the holiday. (Picture book/religion. 3-5)"
Once again, Talia (Talia and the Rude Vegetables, 2011) misunderstands her grandmother, this time for the Yom Kippur holiday "break-fast" meal.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIES AND PREJUDICE by Talia Vance
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 11, 2013

"Fun and tightly plotted, if a bit formulaic. (Mystery. 13 & up)"
A young woman who assists with her dad's private-investigation business is drawn to a stormy newcomer in this mystery that features glimmers of Austen's revered tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOLD  by Talia Vance
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 8, 2013

"Light on worldbuilding but full of steamy romance. (Fantasy. 14-18)"
After the climactic battles that ended Silver (2012), teen bandia Brianna Paxton heads to rural Ireland but finds she can escape neither her destiny nor her many pursuers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER by Talia Vance
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 8, 2012

"A quick read with some interesting fantasy elements, but the passive heroine and sometimes-confusing worldbuilding disappoint. (Fantasy. 13-16)"
Brianna Paxton has always suspected she is invisible to boys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OMG... I DID IT AGAIN?! by Talia Aikens-Nuñez
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2016

"A sweet romp for young readers who like humor and magic. (Fantasy. 7-10)"
Now that she has become a witch, April encounters an unexpected challenge: without ever meaning to do it, she conjures up elephants in her dreams. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAITING FOR UNICORNS by Beth Hautala
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 22, 2015

"Written by an author to watch, this quiet story of loss and healing will appeal to thoughtful readers. (Fiction. 10-14)"
During a summer spent in the Artic, 12-year-old Talia McQuinn experiences the healing power of place and of stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN WHO FOUGHT ALONE by Stephen R. Donaldson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"Clichéd, chop-soggy whodunit that might be tough love for fans of Donaldson's Thomas Covenant and Gap Into Power series."
The well-known science fiction and fantasy author (Reave the Just, 1999, etc.) dons a trenchcoat for what might be the beginning of a hard-boiled detective series. Read full book review >