Search Results: "Tanith Lee"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF THE DEAD by Tanith Lee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 13, 1992

"Slight and disappointingly mediocre fare after splendid work (The Book of the Beast, 1991) last time out."
Third of Lee's hitherto impressive Secret Books of Paradys: eight odd tales set in a forgotten French city where magic works and horrid things lurk in dark corners. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEE by Tito Perdue
Released: Aug. 15, 1991

"A promising debut."
A first novel that follows an old man, a kind of Old Testament prophet full of books and anger at the age, as he wanders— sometimes violently—through the modern urban world and into his own past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLF STAR by Tanith Lee
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2001

"As part of the series, this is essential; but as a standalone, it's likely to leave readers as much puzzled as enchanted. (Fiction. 11+)"
In this fascinating but frustrating sequel to Wolf Tower (2000), Lee continues her heroine's imaginary journal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOLF TOWER by Tanith Lee
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2000

"A diverting escapade for fans of Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy (1994), Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted (1997), and the like. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Lee (Saint Fire, not reviewed, etc.) opens a new series framed, belt and suspenders, in chapters and diary entries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF THE MAD by Tanith Lee
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: July 5, 1993

"Sheer enchantment."
The culmination of Lee's horror-fantasy tetralogy (The Book of the Dead, 1992, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INDIGARA by Tanith Lee
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

Kid and loyal robot dog visit a confusing alternate dimension. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2001

"Still, this lightweight confection provides some essential closure. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Loose ends are tied up with almost painful tidiness in Lee's (Wolf Star, 2001, etc.) third entry in the series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DARKNESS, I by Tanith Lee
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 1996

"A noteworthy vampire variant, set forth in Lee's remarkably textured, glittering prose, though the numerous meandering, occasionally coinciding plotlets provide insufficient structural firmness to really compel the attention."
Third in a hitherto paperback fantasy/horror series (Personal Darkness, etc.) about the immortal, predatory, vampirish Scarabae- -although they aren't obliged to drink blood, nor are they much bothered by daylight, crucifixes, or garlic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"And the thrilling dénouement is romantic as heck. (Fiction. YA)"
A glorious roustabout of a tale, full of yummy set pieces and terrific adventures, unbelievable in a most satisfying way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GODS ARE THIRSTY by Tanith Lee
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 25, 1996

In a substantial shift from her recent fantasy/horror efforts (Darkness, I, 1996, etc.), Lee turns to the dreams and horrors of the French Revolution to give a sexually charged, if massive, account of its first citizens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 10, 1990

First of a four-book series from one of Britain's leading fantasists (Dreams of Dark and Light, 1986): three long gothic tales set in the surreal, anachronistic, half-forgotten French city of Paradys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIRATICA II by Tanith Lee
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"Perhaps Piratica III will return to the thrilling days of yesteryear. (Fiction. YA)"
While those who adored Piratica will probably long for this sequel, it lacks much of the spark and energy of its delicious forebear. Read full book review >