Search Results: "Tara Elgin Holley"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 1997

"The bond is marked by ambivalence, conflict, suffering—and a daughter's impressive commitment to staying connected to, and caring for, a mother whom she has in some sense lost."
The utterly absorbing story of a woman's struggle to care for her mentally ill mother, tracing the ravages of mental illness on both the sufferer and her family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TARA ROAD by Maeve Binchy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 2, 1999

"One of Binchy's best. (Book-of-the-month main selection; author tour)"
Once again, Binchy (The Glass Lake, 1995, etc.) memorably limns the lives of ordinary people caught in the traps sprung by life and loving hearts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1997

"But while Vrettos has a remarkable story to tell, he does not entirely unearth its characters' odd lives and complex motives. (16 pages b&w illustrations, not seen)"
Less concerned with ethics than with narrative, novelist Vrettos (Lord Elgin's Lady, 1982, etc.) chronicles the odyssey of the so-called Elgin Marbles from Athens to London against the backdrop of the Napoleonic Wars. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Heavily illustrated, the volume includes scene sketches for Tara and the burning of Atlanta, costume sketches, makeup stills, and more. (Abrams; $39.95; Nov.; 224 pages; ISBN 0-8109-3684-4; Book-of-the-Month Club selection)"
Harmetz, who has previously chronicled the making of The Wizard of Oz and Casablanca, now turns to the Great American Movie: Gone With the Wind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 10, 2004

"A unique life related with animation, admiration, and affection, but also faithfully and unfancifully. (16-page b&w photo insert, not seen)"
Perceptive biography of an aristocrat Scottish lady who broke social, political, and diplomatic ground. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TARA DUNCAN AND THE SPELLBINDERS by Sophie Audouin-Mamikonian
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"High fantasy for middle-schoolers who just can't get enough of it. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
An adventurous preteen encounters inter-dimensional portals, magical powers and mysterious parentage in this overstuffed first book of a bestselling European fantasy series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 22, 1993

"An ambitious and provocative call to greater awareness, marred by sometimes tortuous turns of expression and thought."
A stimulating, though not elegantly expressed, vision of the evolution of the cosmos—and of our role in its future. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 4, 2005

"As golden as its subject."
Fans of Sue Hubbell and Diane Ackerman will take to this like—well, bees to honey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 7, 2013

"An excellent, easy-to-read introduction to modern economic thinking."
A series of lighthearted essays exploring how holidays reflect our economic system and society. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DUNCAN, SON OF SAGIRA by E.C. Holley
Released: May 28, 2012

"Cat and magic fans, unite!"
The cats are not what they seem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"A deeply reported, thoroughly engaging look at what it takes to succeed in the NFL—and a perfect complement to the NFL Network's compelling miniseries Bill Belichick: A Football Life."
A longtime Patriots chronicler goes inside the brain trust of the NFL's most successful team. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AT FIRST I HOPE FOR RESCUE by Holley Rubinsky
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 1998

"Verbal energy, narrative drive, high pace, an eye hungry for detail—all show a writer waiting at the gate for when she finds her true subjects."
Canadian Rubinsky's debut consists of five longish stories on trendy topics—child abuse, bulimia, self abuse, etc.—that still don't manage to smother entirely the robust natural energies of her writing. Read full book review >