Search Results: "Tarquin Hall"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CASE OF THE LOVE COMMANDOS by Tarquin Hall
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013

"Once again, India's Most Private Investigator solves his case with panache."
Vish Puri (The Case of the Deadly Butter Chicken, 2012, etc.) helps a couple whose mutual affection is thwarted by India's rigid caste system. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CASE OF THE MAN WHO DIED LAUGHING by Tarquin Hall
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2010

"As tasty as Puri's favorite aloo parantha."
Vish Puri (The Case of the Missing Servant, 2009, etc.) takes a break from vetting prospective bridegrooms to investigate a murder that defies all reason. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 10, 2012

"Vish Puri's third outing continues the tradition of Hall's lively franchise."
India's Most Private Investigator faces threats from near and far as he grapples with the death of a Pakistani cricket-ace's father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CASE OF THE MISSING SERVANT by Tarquin Hall
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2009

"What Cara Black does for Paris, Hall (Salaam Brick Lane: A Year in the New East End, 2005, etc.) achieves for India in this lively and quick-paced series debut."
India's Most Private Investigator uses stealth, cunning and above all discretion to turn the tables on a killer. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A ROMANTIC NOD TO WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH
by Bobbi Dumas

As we close out March, I thought it would be a nice salute to women’s history month to focus on some great historical romance and some truly terrific romance heroines!

First off, I wanted to give a major shout-out to a debut novel that was released this week, Lisa Berne’s You May Kiss the Bride (which earned a starred review ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE & LAUGHTER BY CHAPTERS
by Bobbi Dumas

I’ve written think pieces, essays, book reviews, blog posts, etc., etc., etc. on the amazing power of romance novels - how they make us feel better, uplift us, create community for many women (and some men), help us feel secure in a sometimes hostile world, and on and on and on.

I know not everyone agrees with me on this, but ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FAVORITES AND NEW DISCOVERIES
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As I prepare for another year to roll in, I thought I’d share some of my favorite reads and new discoveries from 2016.

Some of you may know this has been a bit of a tumultuous year for me, but I was blessed to travel to a number of conferences, including RT, RWA, Chicago North’s Spring Fling, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FATHER LAURENCE OLIVIER by Tarquin Olivier
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 15, 1994

"Choice all the way and filled with unpublished letters from Larry to Tarquin, Jill, and others that reveal a charming but guilt-ridden Olivier."
Tarquin Olivier's second book, first published in Great Britain, follows his The Eye of the Day (1964—not reviewed). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECT SQUARE by Michael Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Young readers will absorb the visual lessons effortlessly and with delight. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The volume, like its subject, is a perfect square, welcoming readers into a colorful, geometric romp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STOLEN SUN by Amanda  Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2001

"This, coupled with her unique perspective on a common theme, make the dramatic read-aloud an easy addition to multicultural collections. (Picture book/folktale. 5-9)"
Weaving together important themes in Native Alaskan culture, Hall (The Hard to Swallow Tale of Jonah and the Whale, not reviewed, etc.) creates a hauntingly original story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRANKENCRAYON by Michael Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 26, 2016

"With very careful repeat reads, this challenging tale may pay off, especially if readers choose to put on a play of their own. (dramatis personae) (Picture book. 5-8)"
Personified crayons and a pencil, thespians all, re-enact the cancellation of their book, while Hall fills his story within a story with intrigue, theater, and a whole lot of silly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYONE SLEEPS by Marcellus Hall
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 2, 2013

"An inventive if not wholly successful look at the nighttime world of nature. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An imaginative pug with insomnia explores the night world of sleeping animals with a dreamlike narrative in rhyming text. Read full book review >