Search Results: "Tayari Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

SILVER SPARROW by Tayari Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 24, 2011

"Jones beautifully evokes Atlanta in the 1980s while creating gritty, imperfect characters whose pain lingers in the reader's heart."
In her third novel set in Atlanta, Jones (The Untelling, 2005, etc.) writes about two African-American half sisters, only one of whom knows that the other exists until their father's double life starts to unravel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ATLANTA NOIR by Tayari Jones
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Creepy as well as dark, grim in outlook, and murky of prose. Hints of the supernatural may make these tales more appealing to lovers of ghost stories than to the hard-boiled crowd."
The 14 new stories Jones (Silver Sparrow, 2011, etc.) gathers seek to expose "the rot underneath the scent of magnolia and pine" in thoroughly modern but oh-so-Southern Atlanta. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEAVING ATLANTA by Tayari Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 21, 2002

"Technically ambitious, but not a story otherwise out of the ordinary."
Standard coming-of-age debut set amid a 1979 murder spree of African-American children. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE UNTELLING by Tayari Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 18, 2005

"This vernacular and likable heroine deserves more from life—and from her author."
Thin second novel by Jones (Leaving Atlanta, 2002), who follows the hapless love affair of a young, infertile African-American woman in Atlanta. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AN AMERICAN MARRIAGE by Tayari Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Subtle, well-crafted, and powerful."
A look at the personal toll of the criminal justice system from the author of Silver Sparrow (2011) and The Untelling (2005). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOLLY GODDARD JONES
by Megan Labrise

Holly Goddard Jones had written 100 pages of a horror story about killer ticks when she found out she was pregnant. Through her son’s first years and a second pregnancy, she wrote and rewrote The Salt Line, finishing final edits just one month before her daughter was born.

“Once I was dealing with motherhood and all the anxiety around it ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

ALMA MATTERS
by David Rapp

American universities are bastions of knowledge, hotbeds of activism and academic politics, and a constant source of fascination for writers, who show them at their best and worst. Here are three books, reviewed by Kirkus Indie, that offer very different takes on the college experience.

Adrian Jones Pearson ’s satirical novel Cow Country (2014) presents rural Cow Eye Community College ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HOW COULD YOU BE SO HEARTLESS
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones

Cover Story: Blurry Big Face
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale:
 6
Talky Talk: Modern-Day Fairy Tale
Bonus Factors:
 Deal with the Devil, Portland
Anti-Bonus Factor: Patti Chase Award for Awful Parenting
Relationship Status: Summer Fling

Cover Story: Blurry Big Face

Aside from finding a cover model who ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ORANGE, TRIANGLE, FOX by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"What this and its companion lack in clarity of concepts, they make up for in character. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An exploration of colors, shapes and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READY FOR WEATHER by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"A plainspoken and effective introduction to the spectrum of weather patterns, with color identification as a bonus. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers learn the value of dressing properly for various weather conditions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALPHABET FAMILY BAND  by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2017

"A delightful ditty of a book. (Board book. 2-4)"
An extended family makes beautiful music together with a wide array of instruments. Read full book review >