Search Results: "Ted Bell"


BOOK REVIEW

TED by Tony DiTerlizzi
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"It's not exactly subtle, but children may find its exaggerations appealing. (Picture book. 7-9)"
A more-or-less imaginary friend brings a lonely boy and his distracted father together in this heavy-handed but slapstick romp from the author/illustrator of Jimmy Zangwow's Out-of-This-World Moon Pie Adventure (2000). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOCTOR TED by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2008

"Kids will be anxious to see what kind of fireman Ted becomes. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Ted is one prepared bear. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NICK OF TIME by Ted Bell
ADVENTURE
Released: May 13, 2008

"Bell should have left this one in his sea chest. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
The author of several Ian Fleming-style thrillers for adults reworks his lengthy self-published 2000 debut into a windy, labored and even longer doorstopper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PATRIOT by Ted Bell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Loaded with action and driven by a man of improbably admirable qualities, this adventure is a great escape from reality."
A rip-roaring thriller wherein the hero must protect both his son and the free world from an erstwhile friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WARRIORS by Ted Bell
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 2014

"Near the end, a villain exclaims, 'Then bring me the head of Alexander Hawke!' Really, there's no need. When we finish enjoying Warriors, just bring us Hawke's next lively adventure."
Bell's Warriors is the eighth Alex Hawke thriller, and it's fun in its own fast-moving, quirky way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PHANTOM by Ted Bell
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 20, 2012

"A long novel that is short on suspense but still keeps the reader involved with its charmingly unflappable hero and narrative quirks, as well as the ease with which it unfolds on multiple continents, on land and sea and in air."
Strange disasters are occurring around the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WARLORD by Ted Bell
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 5, 2010

"A meaty, entertaining thriller, sometimes predictable, more often not—just the thing for fans of Ludlum, Trevanian and Fleming."
From Bell (Nick of Time, 2008, etc.), a James Bondish adventure brought up to date with Middle Eastern terrorists, Russian baddies and assorted other denizens of evil empires around the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIME PIRATE by Ted Bell
ADVENTURE
Released: April 13, 2010

"Laced with old-timey language, wild coincidences, arbitrarily trotted-out bit players from the Marquis de Lafayette and Winston Churchill to the odd strumpet or Indian warrior, lurid murders ('The dying victims' blood mingled with the juice from hundreds of crates of tomatoes') and explosions aplenty, this doorstopper sequel to Nick of Time (2008) may have a certain retro appeal to adrenaline junkies. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Laboriously harking back to the pulp juveniles of yestercentury—or at least their melodramatic plotting and uncomplicated values—Bell presents the continued exploits of intrepid teen Nick McIver, boy time traveler. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAWKE by Ted Bell
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 3, 2003

"Bell's first is so over the top—in a genre where hyperbole, bombast, and implausibility are the norm—as to seem a spoof. The most compelling reason to push to the end of this jerkin-ripper is to see whether Hawke will swing from a chandelier during swordplay."
Not-so-secret agent Alexander Hawke makes James Bond look like a slovenly, dull-witted clock-puncher as he saves the world from Cuban coup plotters, post-Soviet arms dealers, Middle Eastern germ warfare, nuclear destruction, and bad manners. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1993

"Good subject, bad treatment."
Tabloid-style gossip about the senior senator from Massachusetts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARTIST TED by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2012

"Oblivious but funny and full of gusto, Ted's bound for detective work next. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Ted's back, bursting with enthusiasm, this time throwing himself into the role of painter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREFIGHTER TED by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 8, 2009

"Sure to fire up kids' imaginations while tickling their funny bones at the same time. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Following his day as a doctor (Doctor Ted, 2008), Ted awakens to the odor of smoke (burned toast) and decides that since a firefighter cannot be found he must save the day himself. Read full book review >