Search Results: "Teri Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

VELVET UNDERCOVER by Teri Brown
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 20, 2015

"A slow-burning tale of espionage and deceit that explores the complexities and moral uncertainties of war. (Historical fiction. 13-17) "
A British girl with a brilliant mind is recruited into a shadow organization to extract an unnamed spy—and hopefully learn about her missing father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BORN OF ILLUSION by Teri Brown
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 11, 2013

"With an eye-catching jacket cover, this wordy mix of magic, history and romance will appeal to fans of Libba Bray. (Historical fantasy. 13 & up)"
Newly arrived in the exciting Jazz Age-era New York City world of mentalists, mediums and séances, can Anna Van Housen hide her gifts from her jealous mother, even as her visions become more frightening? And is she really Harry Houdini's illegitimate daughter? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BORN OF DECEPTION by Teri Brown
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 10, 2014

"A must-read for fans of historical fantasy. (Historical fantasy. 13-16)"
American Anna Van Housen, gifted teenage empath and illusionist, finds herself newly expatriated in Europe, but the dangers (and romantic tension) are just as great across the pond. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ALWAYS TWINS by Teri Weidner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2015

"Although obviously fitting for twins, the story's themes can easily apply to other siblings and friends as well. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Being twins isn't all it's quacked up to be for two duckling siblings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIVKA’S WAY by Teri Kanefield
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Simple sentence after simple sentence gives a numbing effect that further dooms the potential appeal. (Fiction. 9-11)"
Set in Bohemia in 1778, this story centers on Rivka Liebermann, a 15-year-old Jewish girl living in the Prague ghetto with her family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALEXANDER HAMILTON by Teri Kanefield
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"A solid introduction to a charismatic founding father. (timeline, chapter notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 10-14)"
The contributions and eventful life of founding father Alexander Hamilton are examined and explained. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"An important glimpse into the early civil rights movement. (author's note, sources, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
Kanefield tells the story of Barbara Rose Johns, whose fight for equality in the schools of Farmville, Va., went all the way to the United States Supreme Court. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLATED by Teri Terry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2013

"Intriguing—readers will be on tenterhooks for the next one. (Dystopian romance. 11 & up)"
What would it be like to live in a world in which the fear of terrorists has resulted in the technology to wipe out memories or shut you down completely if you become deeply sad or angry? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AWAY by Teri Hall
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Another absorbing, suspenseful and imaginative effort in this excellent series. (Dystopia. 12 & up)"
This worthy sequel to Hall's The Line (2010) continues to build a dystopian world rich with suspense and moral choices. Read full book review >