Search Results: "Teri Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

VELVET UNDERCOVER by Teri Brown
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 20, 2015

"A slow-burning tale of espionage and deceit that explores the complexities and moral uncertainties of war. (Historical fiction. 13-17) "
A British girl with a brilliant mind is recruited into a shadow organization to extract an unnamed spy—and hopefully learn about her missing father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BORN OF ILLUSION by Teri Brown
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 11, 2013

"With an eye-catching jacket cover, this wordy mix of magic, history and romance will appeal to fans of Libba Bray. (Historical fantasy. 13 & up)"
Newly arrived in the exciting Jazz Age-era New York City world of mentalists, mediums and séances, can Anna Van Housen hide her gifts from her jealous mother, even as her visions become more frightening? And is she really Harry Houdini's illegitimate daughter? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BORN OF DECEPTION by Teri Brown
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 10, 2014

"A must-read for fans of historical fantasy. (Historical fantasy. 13-16)"
American Anna Van Housen, gifted teenage empath and illusionist, finds herself newly expatriated in Europe, but the dangers (and romantic tension) are just as great across the pond. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ALWAYS TWINS by Teri Weidner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2015

"Although obviously fitting for twins, the story's themes can easily apply to other siblings and friends as well. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Being twins isn't all it's quacked up to be for two duckling siblings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIVKA’S WAY by Teri Kanefield
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Simple sentence after simple sentence gives a numbing effect that further dooms the potential appeal. (Fiction. 9-11)"
Set in Bohemia in 1778, this story centers on Rivka Liebermann, a 15-year-old Jewish girl living in the Prague ghetto with her family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALEXANDER HAMILTON by Teri Kanefield
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"A solid introduction to a charismatic founding father. (timeline, chapter notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 10-14)"
The contributions and eventful life of founding father Alexander Hamilton are examined and explained. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M A DUCK! by Teri Sloat
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"Storytimers will wish they too were ducks. (Picture book. 2-6)"
"Duck? / Yup, you're a duck! / I'm a duck. Yup, / by some magnificent / stroke of good luck, / I'm a duck!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIECES OF CHRISTMAS by Teri Sloat
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Sloat's imaginary postage stamps are attractive images, but the title, concept, and connection with Santa never coalesce into a real story. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Sloat continues exploring the theme of her previous work, Hark! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROM ONE TO ONE HUNDRED by Teri Sloat
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1991

An equally delightful companion to Sloat's first book, From Letter to Letter (1989), with a full page for each number up to ten and double spreads for 20, 30, etc. to 100. Read full book review >