Search Results: "Terry Denton"


BOOK REVIEW

WOMBAT & FOX by Terry Denton
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Fans of Dav Pilkey who are ready for something different will chuckle at the wild antics of this jolly band of animal friends. (Fantasy. 6-10)"
This Australian buddy book featuring the titular Wombat and Fox as well as Croc, millionaire Bandicoot, the Hippo Sisters and the naughty, naughty Five Monkeys is sure to please new readers with a wacky sense of humor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 1996

An anguished account of the unhappy life of Terry McGovern, by a father still struggling to come to terms with it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMY'S MONSTER by Jenny Wagner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1991

"An unusual variation on a popular theme; vulnerable-looking Amy proves to be commendably assertive and resourceful. (Picture book. 3-8)"
As seen on the first page, Amy is quite capable of mischief; but when her mother packs her off to visit her twin cousins, she almost meets her match. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT NOISES by Terry Denton
illustrated by Terry Denton, by Mem Fox
Released: Sept. 1, 1989

"A compassionate portrait of old age, memorably extended in Denton's sharply observed pen and colored, pencil illustrations, which use frames for the three parallel stories of events in the past, outside, and by the fire."
Old Lily Laceby—her bones "as creaky as floorboards at midnight"—lives alone with her elderly dog. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"As promised, this book is filled with loads of 'Very Bad Stuff that Will Make Your Brain Explode!'—what could be better than that? (Poetry/graphic short stories. 7-12)"
Sometimes bad can be very, very good indeed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CAT ON THE MAT IS FLAT by Andy Griffiths
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's Happy Hockey Family (1993). (Poetry. 6-8)"
" ‘Alas! Alack!' said Harry Black. / ‘I cannot give that yak a whack! / or he'll attack me with that tack!' " The creators of the aptly titled Just Disgusting (2004) reunite for nine rhymed romps, including the adventures of ducks Chuck and Buck and a muck-sucking truck, Ed and Ted co-habiting a shed and the pursuit of the ill-fated titular feline by a rat with a baseball bat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PARTICULAR COW by Mem Fox
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"EWSLUGp2001, illustrated by Mark Teague, will give readers and listeners more time to become engaged in the goings-on. (Picture book. 5-7)"
In a sort of bovine Rosie's Walk, a cow starts out on a stately stroll that degenerates into a wild careen down a hill, through a wedding ceremony and into a small boat floating on a pond. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DENTON LITTLE'S DEATHDATE by Lance Rubin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 14, 2015

" The planned companion novel might provide some of the answers missing here, and those who have been charmed by the winsome characters will look forward to it. (Fiction. 14-18)"
A young man lives out his last hours in this comedic novel set at a time in the near future in which people grow up knowing when they will die. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DENTON MARE by Duane DeMello
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 18, 2008

"One of the Old West's most beloved mustachioed villains rides again in this fictional account, perpetuating the memory of a fascinatingly complex figure."
An intriguing historical novel based on the life of Texas outlaw Sam Bass. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2003

"Hard-drinking, hard-fighting, beloved by his troops: Allen has a fine chronicler here—fans of Band of Brothers ought to snap this up."
A ripsnortin' life of an unorthodox—and barely tolerated—American general. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT BODY PART IS THAT? by Andy Griffiths
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Occasionally clever—fifth-grade boys will love it. (Humor. 10-12)"
"There is a lot of nonsense written about the human body," writes the author, "and this book is no exception." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"8 pages b&w photos, unseen)."
A flimsy biography of the phenomenonally successful black author. Read full book review >