Search Results: "Thomas Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

ROBERT CREWS by Thomas Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 18, 1994

"A shaggy-man story with an ambiguous denouement that, in retrospect, turns the rest of the tale into one long set-up line."
Berger continues his postmodern traversal of the Harvard Classics (Orrie's Story, 1990) with a blow-by-blow American remake of Robinson Crusoe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUSPECTS by Thomas Berger
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"Not the most successful of Berger's enigmatic sendups; as in Robert Crews (1994), fans of the genre under dissection are more likely to be bemused than enlightened."
Berger takes on the suburban police novel in his latest deadpan deconstruction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEETING EVIL by Thomas Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 15, 1992

"The result is by turns exhilarating, disturbing, and finally unsatisfying—as if an amusement-park ride had just dumped you back where you first got on."
The worst day in the life of struggling suburban realtor John Felton: from the doorbell's morning ring on through a rising spiral of violence to a teasingly ambiguous midnight climax—when John finally has to deal with the smiling, homicidal nemesis/double responsible for ruining his life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST FRIENDS by Thomas Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2003

"Nobody writes them like Thomas Berger. Not to be missed."
This trim, mordant 22nd by the author forever identified with his classic Little Big Man (1964) is one more of the surprises that have cropped up throughout Berger's matchless 50-year career. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RETURN OF LITTLE BIG MAN by Thomas Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1999

"Jack Crabb is already one of the immortals."
It was fun to see the boyishly aging cops of CHiPs on the road again—and just about everybody hopes Mary and Rhoda will get together once more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURES OF THE ARTIFICIAL WOMAN by Thomas Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2004

"Still, who wouldn't pay to hear Sinatra with the sniffles? It is Berger, and it's essential reading."
Berger's deliciously deadpan 23rd reworks the vein of satiric fantasy prominently displayed in such predecessors as Vital Parts (1970) and Regiment of Women (1973). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 1999

"Old-time basketball fans will enjoy remembering Pistol Pete, and young fans will be introduced to the player who left such a mark on the sport at a time when showmanship on the hardwood was not the norm. (16 pages b&w photos)"
An informative biography of the legendary basketball player who died suddenly in 1988 at the age of 40 because of a congenital heart defect. Read full book review >