Search Results: "Thomas Keneally"


BOOK REVIEW

CRIMES OF THE FATHER by Thomas Keneally
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 31, 2017

"Keneally's earnest effort to encompass the many legal and religious facets of this issue unfortunately results in more of an agenda than a novel."
The sexual abuse of minors by Catholic priests in Australia gets a sensitive but uneven treatment by the author of Schindler's List. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TYRANT’S NOVEL by Thomas Keneally
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2004

"Brilliant, riveting, conscience-driven political novel: rank it with the greats."
Australia's Keneally (Office of Innocence, 2003, etc., etc.) offers the most significant American novel of some time, much as Graham Greene in 1955 with The Quiet American. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAUGHTERS OF MARS by Thomas Keneally
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 20, 2013

"Fans of Downton Abbey and Gallipoli alike will find much to admire in Keneally's fast-moving, flawlessly written pages."
Australian novelist Keneally (Schindler's List, 1982, etc.) turns to his native country in a time of war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEARCHING FOR SCHINDLER by Thomas Keneally
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 14, 2008

"An essential companion to the original novel."
Keneally (A Commonwealth of Thieves: The Improbable Birth of Australia, 2006, etc.) chronicles the conception, birth and rich afterlife of his most celebrated work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 9, 2002

"The captivating tale of a charming opportunist whose ambition and moral hypocrisy mirror those of mid-19th-century America."
Veteran novelist and historian Keneally (The Great Shame, 1999, etc.) examines the loves and intrigues of one of America's most colorful rogues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"Thoroughly researched, artfully written, engaging and instructive."
A celebrated novelist (Schindler's List, 1982, etc.) and historian (American Scoundrel, 2002, etc.) writes the early history of the English settlers—the convicts and their keepers—of his native Australia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WOMAN OF THE INNER SEA by Thomas Keneally
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 16, 1993

"An unforgettable novel by one of the finest moral imaginations in literature."
Kate Gaffney-Kozinski is a rich young exurban Sydney matron, born well and married well into a Polish-Australian construction dynasty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHAME AND THE CAPTIVES by Thomas Keneally
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 24, 2015

"The somewhat didactic title doesn't do the book justice, and the occasional overwriting can be distracting. Nevertheless, Keneally blends history, romance and wartime intrigue in a remarkable piece of historical fiction with a strong sense of place and time."
In 1944, a group of Japanese POWs escaped from a prison camp in a rural Australian town. Keneally's latest historical novel relates the lead-up to this event from the perspectives of many characters, including Japanese and Italian prisoners, the camp's commanders and several residents of the town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 14, 1999

"Massive in scope, intimate in detail—and memorable in execution. (32 pages b&w photos, not seen) (History Book Club main selection; author tour)"
In this detour into epic history, Australian novelist Keneally (A River Town, 1995, etc.) powerfully chronicles, as he did in Schindler's List, the will to endure in the face of overwhelming catastrophe and man's inhumanity to man, but this time through Irish political prisoners transported to his country—including several ancestors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 1992

Australian novelist Keneally (Flying Hero Class, p. 131, etc.) brings his lively imagination to bear on the American Southwest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABRAHAM LINCOLN by Thomas Keneally
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 30, 2002

"Exemplary and illuminating, even for readers well versed in Lincolniana."
A fine, brief life of the Great Emancipator by the Australian novelist (Woman of the Inner Sea, 1993, etc.) and biographer (American Scoundrel, p. 31, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAPOLEON'S LAST ISLAND by Thomas Keneally
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Clearly, Keneally's sympathies lie firmly with Napoleon and the Balcombes, as will the reader's."
Napoleon's last exile on the island of St. Helena as related by a British teenager who befriended him. Read full book review >