Search Results: "Tim Hamilton"


BOOK REVIEW

IS THAT A CAT? by Tim Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Even the endpapers are in on the fun. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Will this series of mistaken identities have a happy ending? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIG FIB by Tim Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 2014

"A sweet, if uneven, story. (Early reader. 5-7)"
A fib made right paves the way to intergenerational friendship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUT! by Tim Hamilton
by Tim Hamilton, illustrated by Tim Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2014

"The premise promises more than the delivery, BUT…there's no denying that this tale of pirate foolishness is great good fun. (Picture book. 3-7)"
An impromptu piratical birthday bash is saved at the last minute thanks to quick thinking and ample ugly footwear. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TREASURE ISLAND by Robert Louis Stevenson
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Occasional images of startling beauty and subtle power testify to Hamilton's talent; it's a pity he didn't trust them to carry the story. (Graphic novel. 8+)"
Classic Comics return in this uninspired adaptation of Stevenson's rollicking pirate tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ARMY OF GOD by David Axe
NON-FICTION
Released: March 12, 2013

"There's enough here to make concerned readers want to learn more about Kony, whose forces have dwindled even as he continues to elude capture, but the condensing of the graphic narrative falls short of the immensity of the barbarism."
A graphic narrative illuminates the atrocities of Joseph Kony in Central Africa, yet the horror and the complexities of the story are a challenge for such a short work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Grant Me Timely Grace by Tim
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 26, 2010

"A moderately entertaining but wrongheaded Civil War thriller."
Loyalties are tested in Woods' (Never Trust a Hero, 2011, etc.) novel, set in Civil War-era Washington, D.C. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IRE OF IRON CLAW by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 7, 2015

"The swift pace, quirky humor, and general steampunkery should hold the interest of readers—especially the mechanically and electronically inclined. (Steampunk. 9-12)"
In series opener The Mesmer Menace (2014), the Kennewickett clan foiled the world-conquering plans of the evil pigeon Iron Claw and mesmerizing magician Madini, but recent acts of sabotage at the Automated Inn suggest the dastardly duo have returned to commit more mayhem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TICK-TOCK MAN by Kersten Hamilton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2016

"The strongest volume yet in an enjoyable series that keeps getting better. (author's note) (Steampunk. 9-12)"
"Generations of Kennewicketts have excelled at blowing things up." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE FORESTS OF THE NIGHT by Kersten Hamilton
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 3, 2011

"Teagan has a plan for what comes next; fans will have a hard time waiting for her to bring it on. (Urban fantasy. 14-18)"
The Wylltsons have barely escaped from the underworld of Mag Mell only to face a new threat to 5-year-old Aiden and to Teagan herself in this fantasy sequel to Tyger, Tyger (2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FAERIE RING by Kiki Hamilton
FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"An entertaining magical-historical adventure. (Historical fantasy. 12 & up)"
In 1871 London, a ragged girl pickpocket steals a ring that enforces a truce between the British Crown and the Faery world, setting off a struggle between the realms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TYGER TYGER by Kersten Hamilton
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2010

"Buy this novel for readers of Franny Billingsley and Dia Calhoun as well as fans of urban fantasy. (Fantasy. YA)"
Teagan Wylltson's life changes when her parents take in a cousin who's in trouble. Read full book review >