Search Results: "Tim Molloy"


BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO BREAK BAD NEWS by Tim Molloy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"A throwaway product not worth the paper it's printed on."
Associated Press reporter Molloy plumbs the shady side of his trade in a graceless debut about a narcissistic muckraker with delusions of grandeur. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREEBLEY GREEBLEY by Tim Molloy
illustrated by Tim Molloy, developed by Ginger Whale
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 28, 2011

"Not much for plot or special features, but the engagingly ugly monster(s) will draw chortles. (iPad storybook app. 6-8)"
A customizable monster and silly sound effects aplenty make a story that is, at best, perfunctory seem more or less forgivable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE ON FALLING STAR HILL by Michael Molloy
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2004

"For some readers, that may be enough. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Long on inventive details, if short on internal logic, this sweeping tale, set largely in an alternate world whose inhabitants ride oversized pigs and birds rather than horses, colorfully opens a (probable) new series from the author of Witch Trade (2001) and its sequels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH TRADE by Michael Molloy
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"There's not much here for fans of J.M. Barrie, Joan Aiken, Pullman's His Dark Materials, and the like beyond a sense of déjà vu. (Fiction. 11-13)"
A novelist for adults tries for a younger audience with a condescending, thinly disguised pastiche of classic and recent fantasies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 30, 2013

"Uplifting and inspirational, particularly for those interested in international development."
The story of American development worker Molly Melching's founding and expansion of Tostan, an NGO focused on bringing awareness of human rights and a sense of empowerment to people living in remote African villages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETER RAVEN UNDER FIRE by Michael Molloy
BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 1, 2005

"Billed as first of a series. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Freely imitating (as is his wont) classic tales—particularly, in this case, the nautical fiction of C.S. Forester and Patrick O'Brian—Malloy fashions a quick-paced historical doorstopper that sends a British spy, a brilliant young midshipman and a beautiful American heiress crisscrossing the Atlantic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Grant Me Timely Grace by Tim
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 26, 2010

"A moderately entertaining but wrongheaded Civil War thriller."
Loyalties are tested in Woods' (Never Trust a Hero, 2011, etc.) novel, set in Civil War-era Washington, D.C. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EL SICARIO by Molly Molloy
NON-FICTION
Released: June 14, 2011

"While somewhat unique, El Sicario's tale is also quite familiar—one in which the power of money, drugs and women all play a role in achieving the necessary numbness required to carry out unspeakable crimes."
A reformed assassin's tell-all of the horrors endured and executed throughout his years in the Mexican drug trade. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 16, 2009

"Skillfully written account of finding hope after grief."
A Missouri hair-salon owner confronts personal tragedy by rescuing at-risk children overseas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 7, 2011

"Especially timely given recent events throughout the Middle East, this book is recommended for anyone wishing to better understand the workings of a police state."
This harrowing memoir provides an illuminating glimpse into the security apparatus of one of the world's most repressive countries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT CHEESE ROBBERY by Tim Warnes
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 2, 2015

"The throngs of felonious mice make this story worth the read. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Fathers aren't afraid of anything—are they? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALCON by Tim Jessell
by Tim Jessell, illustrated by Tim Jessell
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"The initial rural setting and avian protagonist may be unfamiliar to some readers, but the author/artist's admiration for the beauty of the natural world and the fascination of imagining another life shine through clearly. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Gorgeous artwork and an unusual subject will likely boost the appeal of this (literal and figurative) flight of fancy. Read full book review >