Search Results: "Timothy K. Beal"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 2005

"Neither fish nor fowl. The footwork is a service, and the stops inherently interesting, but there's little value added."
A personal tour of America's roadside Christian kitsch as an earnest and at the same time a condescending religion professor (Case Western Reserve) hauls his family around the country in an RV. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 16, 2011

"A laudable look at the Good Book."
Beal (Religion/Case Western Reserve Univ.; Biblical Literacy: The Essential Bible Stories Everyone Needs to Know, 2009, etc.) provides a fresh take on the Bible. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LETTER HOME by Timothy Decker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 30, 2005

"This elegant work powerfully conveys the slow crawl of war from a soldier and father's perspective. (Picture book. 7-12)"
Though this quiet tale of war is set in 1918 Europe, the story itself could reflect any modern war. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A BOY AND HIS SKUNK
by Leila Roy

“I love him,” Bat said. He hadn’t meant to say it out loud. Mom laughed. “Careful, or you might make me jealous,” she said.
“But it’s true,” Bat said. “I love him.” 
Mom said they’d have to hand the kit over to the rescue center in a month. But Bat, holding the tiny animal in ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CUPID WAR by Timothy Carter
FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Fans of funky unconventional fantasy will lap it up and roar for more. (Humorous fantasy. 12 & up)"
Life was bad enough for Canadian teen Ricky Fallon; who knew death came with pink spandex? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BILL PENNANT, BABE RUTH, AND ME by Timothy Tocher
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2009

"A pennant winner. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
1920 is Babe Ruth's first year with the Yankees, who are sharing the Polo Grounds with John McGraw's Giants. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOMO CONSCIUS by Timothy Balding
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 25, 2017

"A tart but ultimately hollow portrait of a narcissist parading toward hubris."
A retired British diplomat uses his newly acquired free time to explore the mysteries of his own mind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EAGLES OF FIRE by Timothy Rizzi
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 6, 1996

"Furious state-of-the-art action on land, at sea, and (especially) in the air, plus credibly malefic skullduggery behind the lines, will speed most readers past the holes in a plot charitably characterized as serviceable."
USAF Major General Richard ``Duke'' James, the high-flying hero of The Phalanx Dragon (1994) and other of Rizzi's technothrillers, does earthbound battle against savage North Koreans and a vicious home-front foe in this latest test of his considerable mettle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRAND THEFT by Timothy Watts
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 13, 2003

"Though Natalie compares Teddy to Chili Palmer, the whole setup is even more like Out of Sight than Get Shorty. Leonard completists, take note."
Watts takes the Jim Thompson edge off his line in neo-noir comedy (Steal Away, 1996, etc.) and ends up channeling Elmore Leonard at his most genial. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HONEST FOLK OF GUADELOUPE by Timothy Williams
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 13, 2015

"Anne Marie's second appearance, courtesy of the author of the Pietro Trotti crime novels, boasts an elegantly incisive narrative and a fascinating heroine."
Two disturbing murders unsettle the residents of a tropical paradise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 11, 2012

"An engrossing look inside an ultra-conservative mind."
History Today columnist Stanley (Kennedy vs. Read full book review >