Search Results: "Timothy M. Burke"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2008

"While at times a bit breathless and overdramatic, this deserves mention alongside Vincent Bugliosi's Helter Skelter (1974) and Robert Graysmith's Zodiac (1986) as a stellar exploration of the soul of a mass murderer."
Burke's colorful and creepy debut takes a Grisham-esque ride through both the legal system and the mind of a killer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIRD'S SONG by Timothy M. Burke
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 8, 2013

"Fans of legal thrillers and true-crime stories will likely enjoy this ride."
Burke's (The Paradiso Files, 2008) true-crime drama depicts the trials of three different women, each of whom endured a tragic loss. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RULE OF RANGING by Timothy M. Kestrel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 15, 2013

"At times sanguine and seedy; teems with action, adventure and the many complications that come with war."
Kestrel's historical novel imagines life on the battlefield during the French and Indian War in the 1750s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2012

"A unique, engaging history lesson."
A sprightly synthesis of literature and history follows five newspapermen who cut their journalistic teeth during World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 22, 2012

"An entertaining adventure novel flooded with manic action."
Kestrel's debut historical novel follows young Finn from his Scandinavian homeland to the ranks of the Rangers in the new America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALSO-RAN by Timothy M. Tays
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 16, 2016

"A story of overcoming youthful angst and a dysfunctional family that delivers a relatable protagonist."
A teenager faces high school and parent problems in this coming-of-age YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 30, 2010

"An affectionate look at a rollicking slice of baseball history."
How three baseball legends helped prepare the country for the integration of Major League Baseball. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOHN NEWMAN
by Rhett Morgan

In 1992, John Newman prepared to celebrate finishing his Ph.D., securing a book deal with Warner Books for the release of his dissertation, JFK and Vietnam, and having worked directly with Oliver Stone as consultant on the film JFK. But a brief call from the National Security Agency put all of that in jeopardy. Newman was warned that his ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

CHOOSING YOUR OWN PATH
by Leila Roy

Everyone wants something different from me. It’s like one second, I should be a better dude. I should stop being such a girly douche, and I should just man up. Then, it’s the opposite: I’m too much of a guy, and it’s not right. I should be a girl, because that’s what I’m supposed to be.

The thing is, I’m ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

AND STILL I RISE by Henry Louis Gates Jr.
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A must for the look-it-up shelf and a poignant reminder of how far we have come—and have yet to go."
A stirring chronology of advances—and some backward steps—in the long struggle for African-American civil rights. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ALL IS NOT LOST
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Teach Me to Forget by Erica M. Chapman

Cover Story: In the Clouds
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 8
Talky Talk: Heavy, Yet Hopeful
Anti-Bonus Factor: Suicide
Relationship Status: Here For You

Trigger Warning: Teach Me to Forget deals with attempted suicide, suicidal thoughts, cutting, severe depression, how suicide affects the people who are ...


Read the full post >