Search Results: "Todd I. Lubart"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 22, 1995

"Ironically, however, for a book on creativity, there is precious little here that is original."
An unstartling assessment of the nature and value of creativity in a society that strives—consciously and subconsciously—to squelch it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN TODD WE TRUST by Louise Galveston
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 17, 2015

"Instead of satire, readers get a zany adventure, which would be perfectly satisfactory—if it were zany enough. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
This sequel to By the Grace of Todd (2014) sees the return of the title character and his acolytes.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 3, 2014

"A humorous, lively and humane memoir."
A stand-up comedian's upfront account of the personal struggles with homosexuality that underlay his successful career as an entertainer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Dash of Dr. Todd by Howard E. Adkins
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 26, 2009

"An original, well-researched novel that combines exciting plot twists with thought-provoking themes."
In this novel, Adkins (Hannity's Curse, 2009, etc.), a retired physician, imagines a young doctor's journey to the Western frontier during the Gold Rush. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BY THE GRACE OF TODD by Louise Galveston
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 27, 2014

"The 'to be continued' on the final page reads like a threat. (Fantasy. 8-11)"
Can a kid who killed his hermit crab through neglect save a brand new civilization? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN MEMORY OF TODD WOODS by Tom Taylor
Released: March 8, 2012

"A heartfelt yet unsentimental look at the lives and loves of American adolescents."
Two best friends navigate the emotional surprises and social hazards faced by modern teenagers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF I GROW UP by Todd Strasser
FICTION
Released: Feb. 24, 2009

"His heart is definitely in the right place; he only needs to hone his message. (Fiction. YA)"
Inner-city teen DeShawn fights to keep his head above water while trapped in a violent, gang-ridden nightmare as his friends and family succumb to drug deals, murder and shootouts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I NEVER MET A STORY I DIDN'T LIKE by Todd Snider
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2014

"A memoir that's a lot like being at a very long Snider show, without the melodies."
A rambling memoir of life as a troubadour. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE I LOVE YOU BOOK by Todd Parr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"Ho-hum. (Picture book. 2-5)"
"I love you when you are scared. / I love you when you are brave. / I love you when I am away. / I love you when we are cuddled up close." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW I CHANGED MY LIFE by Todd Strasser
FICTION
Released: May 1, 1995

"They'll love it. (Fiction. 12+)"
Her senior year is not easy for Bo (short for Bolita) Vine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ZOO I DREW by Todd H.  Doodler
ABC BOOKS
Released: July 28, 2009

"Animales from A to Z, illustrated by Doug Cushman (2006) or David McLiman's Gone Wild: An Endangered Animal Alphabet (2006). (Picture book. 3-5)"
Between heavily corrugated covers, "Doodler" (aka Todd Harris Goldman) offers a gallery of common zoo animals, Alligator to Zebra, depicted full-spread-size in a bright, simple graphic style. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

“I” by Jack Olsen
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 20, 2002

"True-crime entertainment at its best."
Veteran true-crime author Olsen (Hastened to the Grave, 1998, etc.) explores the crimes and motivations of a truck-stop murderer. Read full book review >