Search Results: "Tom Lalicki"


BOOK REVIEW

NONFICTION
Released: April 8, 2004

"The author effectively places the raid into the larger context of the war, and young readers will learn much about the Civil War in general in this excellent account of one campaign. (chains of command, organization of cavalry, glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 10+)"
During the Civil War, Vicksburg, Mississippi, was better defended than any other Southern city, but it had to be captured to achieve Lincoln's goal of splitting the Confederacy by controlling the Mississippi River. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 12, 2006

"Pair this one with Gary Blackwood's Second Sight (2005) and look for sequels. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Since his father's death, 13-year-old Nathaniel Greene Makeworthy Fuller IV and his mother have been living in New York City with Nate's wealthy, paternal great-aunt Alice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHOTS AT SEA by Tom Lalicki
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 25, 2007

"Readers interested in fiction with historical characters will drink this one up, and it's also for fans of Dan Gutman's Qwerty Stevens, Back in Time mysteries. (Historical fiction. 8-12)"
Lalicki's second historical mystery finds escapologist Harry Houdini and his protégé Nate Makeworthy Fuller IV on board the Lusitania, there to uncover the identity of Theodore Roosevelt's would-be assassin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPELLBINDER by Tom Lalicki
BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 15, 2000

Houdini has plenty of biographers, but Lalicki, who as Tom L. Matthews wrote Always Inventing: A Photobiography of Alexander Graham Bell (1999), will leave even veteran students of the great showman, magician, escape artist, and self-promoter astonished anew: "He was stripped naked and examined by a police surgeon who certified that he was hiding nothing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM by Daniel Torres
by Daniel Torres, translated by Julie Simmons-Lynch, illustrated by Daniel Torres
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1996

"Then again, this book is supposed to be about art, so maybe the words don't matter. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Torres's first book is a big tribute to New York City and a little satire about the superficiality of the public's taste in art, wrapped in a story about a dinosaur. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM by Lyle Leverich
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1995

"Affectionate and affecting, dense with arresting detail, likely to be definitive. (50 b&w photos, not seen) (First printing of 50,000; first serial to the New Yorker)"
Artistically and psychologically acute biography of the great American poet-playwright. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM by Tomie dePaola
by Tomie dePaola, illustrated by Tomie dePaola
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 24, 1993

"A delightfully offbeat vignette of boyish mischief reinforcing the bond between generations; dePaola's handsomely designed illustrations have unusual warmth here, subtly expressing the characters' affection. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Another autobiographical story from dePaola, this time about his grandfather, who ingenuously explains that "We're named after each other, Tommy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Tom Thorneval by Cornelius Elmore Addison
Released: Aug. 8, 2015

"A charming introduction to a world of fairy creatures, featuring a good-hearted narrator who grows into a better person."
In this fairy tale for middle-grade readers, a misfit dream maker goes on a quest for riches and finds himself on a completely different path toward self-worth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Tom's personal and professional relationships with Barnum make this biography a superb complement to Candace Fleming's The Great and Only Barnum (2009). (endnotes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 10-14)"
Long before the Internet, 24-hour news cycles and social networking, the 25-inch-tall General Tom Thumb was a household name in both the United States and Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM FINGER by Gillian McClure
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"An erratic adventure with compelling moments. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In McClure's (Selkie, 1999, etc.) wintry and whimsical tale a girl mourns her dead cat in spite of her brother's protests. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM BEDLAM by George Hagen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 12, 2007

"Like the Forsytes saga, worth continuing for four or five more volumes."
The author of the remarkably fine The Laments (2004) returns with another deceptively modest but deeply satisfying story of an intelligent and prickly family and the difficulty of love. Read full book review >