Search Results: "Tom Lalicki"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 12, 2006

"Pair this one with Gary Blackwood's Second Sight (2005) and look for sequels. (Fiction. 9-14)"
Since his father's death, 13-year-old Nathaniel Greene Makeworthy Fuller IV and his mother have been living in New York City with Nate's wealthy, paternal great-aunt Alice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NONFICTION
Released: April 8, 2004

"The author effectively places the raid into the larger context of the war, and young readers will learn much about the Civil War in general in this excellent account of one campaign. (chains of command, organization of cavalry, glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 10+)"
During the Civil War, Vicksburg, Mississippi, was better defended than any other Southern city, but it had to be captured to achieve Lincoln's goal of splitting the Confederacy by controlling the Mississippi River. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHOTS AT SEA by Tom Lalicki
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 25, 2007

"Readers interested in fiction with historical characters will drink this one up, and it's also for fans of Dan Gutman's Qwerty Stevens, Back in Time mysteries. (Historical fiction. 8-12)"
Lalicki's second historical mystery finds escapologist Harry Houdini and his protégé Nate Makeworthy Fuller IV on board the Lusitania, there to uncover the identity of Theodore Roosevelt's would-be assassin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPELLBINDER by Tom Lalicki
BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 15, 2000

Houdini has plenty of biographers, but Lalicki, who as Tom L. Matthews wrote Always Inventing: A Photobiography of Alexander Graham Bell (1999), will leave even veteran students of the great showman, magician, escape artist, and self-promoter astonished anew: "He was stripped naked and examined by a police surgeon who certified that he was hiding nothing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS LABELMAKER TO THE RESCUE! by Tom Angleberger
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"Cheers of 'STOOKY!' will rise when Origami Yoda answers 'The End?' with 'Way No!' (Graphic fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Is Principal Rabbski the evil Empress of FunTime or the Origami Rebel Alliance's only hope? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BECOMING BACH by Tom Leonard
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2017

"An imaginative look at what sparked a musical genius.(Picture book/biography. 4-8)"
Johann Sebastian Bach's early years come to life in a delightful salute to the 17th-century German composer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERMAN'S VACATION by Tom Percival
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 26, 2016

"The benefits derived from this friendship are pretty one-sided, as is Percival's notion of a happy ending. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Henry the magenta raccoon would really like to go on an expensive jaunt to Cake World or Jelly Bean Falls with his bear pal Herman, but their limited funds necessitate a sojourn at Luckywell discount campsite. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 13, 2014

"Enthusiasts of military heroics should enjoy this grueling account of valor."
Inspirational narrative focused on the friendship between Marine Travis Manion and Navy SEAL Brendan Looney, Naval Academy roommates who fell in Iraq and Afghanistan. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROSALIE LIGHTNING by Tom Hart
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 12, 2016

"A bracing, deeply saddening journey into death and loss whose wryly affirmative resolution, 'joy breaking through the storm clouds,' is nothing but hard won."
What happens to you when your child dies? "You fall," writes cartoonist and bereaved father Hart (Sequential Art/Univ. of Florida), "into a hole." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUBBLE TROUBLE by Tom Percival
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 2, 2015

"The book treads familiar friendship territory and ends up feeling as insubstantial as, well, a bubble. (Picture book. 2-6)"
How much trouble can a bubble really cause? You'd be surprised. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMPEROR PICKLETINE RIDES THE BUS by Tom Angleberger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 12, 2014

"One last time: 'stooky!' (Er, 'fantastic!') (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
A daylong field trip without origami? Nostrul! Er, awful! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERMAN'S LETTER by Tom Percival
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 4, 2014

"Hibernation, dedication and one long-distance friendship that will never be forgotten: a must-have when a friend moves away. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Best friends Herman and Henry pledge to stay that way through letters when Henry has to move. Read full book review >