Search Results: "Tom Service"


BOOK REVIEW

SERVICE by Marcus Luttrell
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2012

"An action-packed, occasionally reflective saga of contemporary military service."
A Navy combat veteran showcases the deadly operations in Iraq, promoting American military duty as ennobling in the service of humanity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM by Daniel Torres
by Daniel Torres, translated by Julie Simmons-Lynch, illustrated by Daniel Torres
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1996

"Then again, this book is supposed to be about art, so maybe the words don't matter. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Torres's first book is a big tribute to New York City and a little satire about the superficiality of the public's taste in art, wrapped in a story about a dinosaur. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM by Lyle Leverich
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 1995

"Affectionate and affecting, dense with arresting detail, likely to be definitive. (50 b&w photos, not seen) (First printing of 50,000; first serial to the New Yorker)"
Artistically and psychologically acute biography of the great American poet-playwright. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOM by Tomie dePaola
by Tomie dePaola, illustrated by Tomie dePaola
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 24, 1993

"A delightfully offbeat vignette of boyish mischief reinforcing the bond between generations; dePaola's handsomely designed illustrations have unusual warmth here, subtly expressing the characters' affection. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Another autobiographical story from dePaola, this time about his grandfather, who ingenuously explains that "We're named after each other, Tommy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 16, 2012

"Some mild friction between two bright men sparks striking observations about music."
Edited transcripts of nine intense interviews with the celebrated British composer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Well-written and fascinating, though its appeal may be limited to the terminally food-obsessed."
An insider's look at the first two years of Per Se, Thomas Keller's New York complement to his legendary Napa Valley restaurant, French Laundry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIP SERVICE by Russell Lucas
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1992

"Candide and Tom Jones repackaged as comic apocalypse for the late 20th century: ingeniously and remarkably inventive, but be prepared, too, for the numbing effect of the long cartoon."
Lucas's best stories (Evenings at Mongini's, 1991) found a beauty and human grace even in the very deepest heart of squalor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CURB SERVICE by Scot Sothern
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 16, 2013

"A relentlessly gritty, cheerless portrait of a talented niche artisan."
A cult photographer's raw, rugged life in words and images. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 8, 2011

"By unveiling the complexity of something as simple as a smile, the author provides surprising insights into culture and psychology."
A winning smile is widely recognized as social currency even by our primate cousins, but—as LaFrance (Psychology/Yale Univ.) shows—its meaning is not always so obvious. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOM SERVICE by Richard Swartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"These 16 essays occupy that rare place where journalism becomes literature and where impressionistic portraits of individuals artfully convey the spirit of their time and place."
Swartz's masterful travel writing/journalism—in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Ryszard Kapuscinski—brings us closer to a true feel for the essence of Eastern Europe, as well as human frailty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Tom Thorneval by Cornelius Elmore Addison
Released: Aug. 8, 2015

"A charming introduction to a world of fairy creatures, featuring a good-hearted narrator who grows into a better person."
In this fairy tale for middle-grade readers, a misfit dream maker goes on a quest for riches and finds himself on a completely different path toward self-worth. Read full book review >