Search Results: "Tony Fucile"


BOOK REVIEW

TONY by Ed Galing
Kirkus Star
by Ed Galing, illustrated by Erin E. Stead
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 7, 2017

"Readers will hear the 'clip-clop, clip-clop, clip-clop' in every image of this astonishing book. (Picture book. 2-12)"
Poet Galing (1917-2013) leads Tony, a dairy delivery horse, through the veil of memory, encantatory phrasing—circling and repetitious—calling him plodding from pre-dawn into the present, his sturdy flank barely expanding with the effort. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POOR LOUIE by Tony Fucile
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"Droll humor, an unusual design, and an appealing main character add up to a funny addition to the canon of canines adjusting to new babies. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A pampered Chihuahua gradually realizes its owners are preparing for an impending arrival in the family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LET’S DO NOTHING by Tony Fucile
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2009

"Sal and Frankie's conclusion—that doing nothing is a lot harder than it looks—will ring true with readers young and old. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Two boys, having exhausted all other entertainments (they've "played every sport ever invented...baked enough cookies to feed a small country...read every comic book," and so on), decide to do absolutely nothing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MITCHELL GOES BOWLING by Hallie Durand
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"Loads of fun with a lot of heart. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Boisterous Mitchell and his resourceful dad are back in a hilarious father-and-son tale that celebrates working together with wit and warmth (Mitchell's License, 2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MITCHELL'S LICENSE by Hallie Durand
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: April 26, 2011

"An incredibly entertaining ride, despite the design speed bumps. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Mitchell, a rambunctious 3-year-old, never wants to go to bed—that is, until he gets his driver's license. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TONY BALONEY by Pam Muñoz Ryan
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2013

"This is likely to soothe the fears of those similarly nervous about their ability to follow the school rules. (Early reader. 5-7)"
Tony Baloney doesn't have to worry about sibling problems today—it's the first day of school. But will he be better able to behave there? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TONY BALONEY by Pam Muñoz Ryan
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"Sage advice well worth offering, as closing scenes of realistically uneasy sibling détente demonstrate. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Stuck between Big Sister and the Bothersome Babies, Tony Baloney the macaroni (penguin, that is) can't help acting out sometimes—which leads to a fast getaway into the cardboard hidey-space in his room "for maybe a year, or maybe twenty minutes" with his best stuffed buddy, Dandelion, followed by a parental admonition to apologize nicely. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TONY CURTIS by Tony Curtis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 19, 1993

"Could do very well. (Thirty-five b&w photos—not seen)"
Lippy memoir of actor/painter/novelist Bernard Schwartz, a hard-luck kid from gang-ridden New York who went to Hollywood in his early 20s and became known as Tony Curtis; told with Paris (Louise Brooks, 1989) inserting interviews with Curtis's friends, co-workers, and family members into the otherwise all-Curtis text. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRINGING TONY HOME by Tissa Abeysekara
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"A sophisticated jigsaw of a book, sensitively—sometimes stiflingly—mixing memory and history with regret and rites of passage."
Sri Lankan director-turned-novelist Abeysekara (In My Kingdom of the Sun and the Holy Peak, 2004, etc.) evocatively combines fiction and autobiography in an award-winning novella and three short stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TONY PARTLY CLOUDY by Nick Rollins
MYSTERY THRILLER

"A consistently engaging dramatic thriller."
A popular meteorologist with a knack for accurate predictions clashes with gangsters in Rollins' debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"There may be no new ground broken, but there is still another bumper crop of fun to be had with these two BFFs. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Fans of Bink and Gollie will be pleased to welcome them back in three more humorous linked adventures that, as in their earlier appearances, play off their differences but ultimately affirm their mutual affection. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Friendships can be tricky to navigate, but if youngsters find half of the joy and loyalty of this pair, they'll be set. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Winsome duo Bink and Gollie are back, this time zipping through a day at the state fair (Bink & Gollie, 2010). Read full book review >