Search Results: "Tony Fucile"


BOOK REVIEW

BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 23, 2013

"There may be no new ground broken, but there is still another bumper crop of fun to be had with these two BFFs. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Fans of Bink and Gollie will be pleased to welcome them back in three more humorous linked adventures that, as in their earlier appearances, play off their differences but ultimately affirm their mutual affection. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2012

"Friendships can be tricky to navigate, but if youngsters find half of the joy and loyalty of this pair, they'll be set. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Winsome duo Bink and Gollie are back, this time zipping through a day at the state fair (Bink & Gollie, 2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POOR LOUIE by Tony Fucile
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"Droll humor, an unusual design, and an appealing main character add up to a funny addition to the canon of canines adjusting to new babies. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A pampered Chihuahua gradually realizes its owners are preparing for an impending arrival in the family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LET’S DO NOTHING by Tony Fucile
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2009

"Sal and Frankie's conclusion—that doing nothing is a lot harder than it looks—will ring true with readers young and old. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Two boys, having exhausted all other entertainments (they've "played every sport ever invented...baked enough cookies to feed a small country...read every comic book," and so on), decide to do absolutely nothing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MITCHELL GOES BOWLING by Hallie Durand
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 10, 2013

"Loads of fun with a lot of heart. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Boisterous Mitchell and his resourceful dad are back in a hilarious father-and-son tale that celebrates working together with wit and warmth (Mitchell's License, 2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MITCHELL'S LICENSE by Hallie Durand
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: April 26, 2011

"An incredibly entertaining ride, despite the design speed bumps. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Mitchell, a rambunctious 3-year-old, never wants to go to bed—that is, until he gets his driver's license. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BINK & GOLLIE by Kate DiCamillo
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"More, please! (Early reader. 6-8)"
If James Marshall's George and Martha were not hippos and were both girls, they would be much like best friends Bink and Gollie in this charming early-reader series debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HERO FOR WONDLA by Tony DiTerlizzi
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2012

"Inventive in detail if predictable in plot, this should please fans of the first volume. (Science fiction/fantasy. 10-13)"
Long on action and atmosphere, with detailed descriptions and illustrations of the odd world of Orbona, Eva Nine's adventures pick up just where they ended (The Search forWondLa, 2010).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEWARE OF BOYS by Tony Blundell
ANIMALS
Released: March 27, 1992

"The long-nosed, snaggledtoothed wolf adopts an increasingly beleaguered expression as he rushes about gathering mounds of staples and produce, while Blundell's energetic line and pop-eyed, cartoony characters keep the tale moving at a manic pace. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Once again, the wolf gets the worst of it: the boy he brings home for dinner tempts him with a recipe for ``Boy Soup,'' but first the wolf must gather a plethora of ingredients, including a ton of potatoes, a cartload of carrots, and a barrel of bricks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 4, 2006

"Refreshingly contrarian, and perfectly commonsensical."
Retired Marine Corps general Zinni warns of the dangers of spending time in the so-called Arc of Instability—precisely the area where America's course of empire-building has led. Read full book review >