Search Results: "Tonya C. Hegamin"


BOOK REVIEW

PEMBA’S SONG by Marilyn Nelson
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"However, there is a persistent rushing of the narrative, with details emerging unnaturally fast, that detracts from the overall appeal of this novella. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
A beautifully written, richly historical but too-quickly paced tale unfolds in two voices in this suspenseful ghost story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLOW by Tonya Cherie Hegamin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"A gripping but uneven exploration of the anguishing impact of slavery. (Historical fiction. 14-17)"
An educated slave girl struggles against the confines of race and gender in this coming-of-age story set in 1848 on the Pennsylvania-Maryland border. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 12, 2009

"An unflinching depiction of slavery's impact on families, this selection's reassuring message of love shatters all bonds. (author's note, further resources) (Picture book. 6-9)"
Spare language and vibrant art present a powerful message of hope during American slavery, through a mother's sacrifice and her gift of freedom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M+O 4EVR by Tonya Cherie Hegamin
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 2, 2008

"Flawed but lovely. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A touching if uneven debut about friendship, family and race. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: May 8, 2007

In the argot of the times, Bolden offers a fascinating study of the girl bands of the Swing era during WWII. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP CLOSE: W.E.B. DU BOIS by Tonya Bolden
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Though not one of the stronger entries in this series, it's still a good introduction to an important American figure. (source notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 12 & up)"
W.E.B. Du Bois, one of the leading intellectuals of the 20th century, often declared "the colour line" its defining problem, and his writing remains relevant today. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HISTORY
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"Valuable and impressive. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
Bolden (Rock of Ages, 2001, etc.) presents an overview about what life has been like through the years for African-American children in the US. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Bolden mentions in the introduction her wish that a book similar to this one had existed when she was 12; of the few available now, Mavis Jukes's It's a Girl Thing (1996, not reviewed) and Judith Harlan's Girl Talk (1997) offer more. (Anthology. 11-14)"
paper 0-517-70936-8 A terribly earnest collection of advice that ranges from preachy to peachy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Tonya Kuper
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"Sweet teen reading for fans of X-Men, Star Trek and all things geeky."
This teen sci-fi debut features a nerdy heroine who can add and subtract objects from reality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 1, 2013

"A convincing, handsomely produced argument that the proclamation, for all its acknowledged limitations, remains a watershed document. (endnotes, bibliography, extensive timeline) (Nonfiction. 12-15)"
A vivid depiction of the issues and tensions surrounding abolition and the development of Lincoln's responses to them as the United States plunged into the Civil War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M.L.K. by Tonya Bolden
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 2007

"Still, an important, comprehensive look at a key figure in the Civil Rights Movement. (author's note, timeline, source notes, sources, index) (Nonfiction. 8-14)"
Adding to the growing body of literature about Martin Luther King and the civil rights movement, Bolden attempts to portray the passion of a man for a cause when he could have lived a quiet life untouched by the troubles that would come his way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FINDING FAMILY by Tonya Bolden
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Each carefully posed subject is a fascinating enigma. (author's note) (Historical fiction. 8-12)"
Set in 1905 Charleston, W.Va., this richly lyrical and historically persuasive coming-of-age story explores the ties that bind, break and renew an affluent African-American family. Read full book review >