Search Results: "Tonya Cherie Hegamin"


BOOK REVIEW

WILLOW by Tonya Cherie Hegamin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"A gripping but uneven exploration of the anguishing impact of slavery. (Historical fiction. 14-17)"
An educated slave girl struggles against the confines of race and gender in this coming-of-age story set in 1848 on the Pennsylvania-Maryland border. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M+O 4EVR by Tonya Cherie Hegamin
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 2, 2008

"Flawed but lovely. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A touching if uneven debut about friendship, family and race. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 12, 2009

"An unflinching depiction of slavery's impact on families, this selection's reassuring message of love shatters all bonds. (author's note, further resources) (Picture book. 6-9)"
Spare language and vibrant art present a powerful message of hope during American slavery, through a mother's sacrifice and her gift of freedom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEMBA’S SONG by Marilyn Nelson
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"However, there is a persistent rushing of the narrative, with details emerging unnaturally fast, that detracts from the overall appeal of this novella. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
A beautifully written, richly historical but too-quickly paced tale unfolds in two voices in this suspenseful ghost story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR AND TWENTY BLACKBIRDS by Cherie Priest
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Wildly contrived and oddly chilly, despite all the ranting and raving."
Girl in search of her true parents unearths disquieting family murders in a murky horror debut set in the mountains of Tennessee. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZINK by Cherie Bennett
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

Basing her novel on a one-page story written by an 11-year-old child shortly before her death from leukemia, Bennett (Life in the Fat Lane, 1998, etc.) creates a tale of courage personified. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIDDLEHEAD by Cherie Priest
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 12, 2013

"A rousing finale, far more convincing than its rather too zombified predecessor—one that almost lives up to the extravagant praise this series has received in some quarters."
Final entry, maybe, in Priest's steampunk Clockwork Century series (The Inexplicables, 2012, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIFE IN THE FAT LANE by Cherie Bennett
FICTION
Released: March 1, 1998

"The book's aim is not high culture but high school culture, and it scores for pure entertainment value. (Fiction. 12-15)"
A teenager who has it all—perfect body, perfect personality, perfect grades, perfect boyfriend—loses it when she gains a hundred pounds in this unsubtle but ultimately savvy problem novel that reads like an Alicia Silverstone vehicle waiting to happen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIMSTONE by Cherie Priest
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 4, 2017

"A tale as amiably warm as the Florida town where it's set but with its promises of real heat fading away before a pat conclusion that ties everything off a bit too neatly."
A young clairvoyant must save herself and her community from the ghosts a war veteran has brought home in Priest's (The Family Plot, 2016, etc.) newest fantasy/horror offering. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Tonya Kuper
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"Sweet teen reading for fans of X-Men, Star Trek and all things geeky."
This teen sci-fi debut features a nerdy heroine who can add and subtract objects from reality. Read full book review >