Search Results: "Tonya Cherie Hegamin"


BOOK REVIEW

WILLOW by Tonya Cherie Hegamin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"A gripping but uneven exploration of the anguishing impact of slavery. (Historical fiction. 14-17)"
An educated slave girl struggles against the confines of race and gender in this coming-of-age story set in 1848 on the Pennsylvania-Maryland border. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M+O 4EVR by Tonya Cherie Hegamin
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 2, 2008

"Flawed but lovely. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A touching if uneven debut about friendship, family and race. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 12, 2009

"An unflinching depiction of slavery's impact on families, this selection's reassuring message of love shatters all bonds. (author's note, further resources) (Picture book. 6-9)"
Spare language and vibrant art present a powerful message of hope during American slavery, through a mother's sacrifice and her gift of freedom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEMBA’S SONG by Marilyn Nelson
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"However, there is a persistent rushing of the narrative, with details emerging unnaturally fast, that detracts from the overall appeal of this novella. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
A beautifully written, richly historical but too-quickly paced tale unfolds in two voices in this suspenseful ghost story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR AND TWENTY BLACKBIRDS by Cherie Priest
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Wildly contrived and oddly chilly, despite all the ranting and raving."
Girl in search of her true parents unearths disquieting family murders in a murky horror debut set in the mountains of Tennessee. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZINK by Cherie Bennett
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

Basing her novel on a one-page story written by an 11-year-old child shortly before her death from leukemia, Bennett (Life in the Fat Lane, 1998, etc.) creates a tale of courage personified. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"An inspiring tale as well as a tantalizing invitation to visit one of our country's newest 'must see' attractions. (source notes) (Nonfiction. 10-13)"
An account of how the "hundred-year hope" for a National Museum of African American History and Culture came to fruition, with glimpses of the new institution's treasures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PASSIONARIES by Tonya Hurley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"A terrific second volume. (Paranormal thriller. 14 & up)"
Revered by some, hunted by others, Lucy, Cecilia and Agnes may have survived the staggering violence that claimed Sebastian's life, but their hopes of returning to any semblance of normal after the events at Precious Blood are quickly and quite decisively dashed (Precious Blood, 2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 2005

"Although Maritcha comes across as something of a stuffed shirt—her prose is distinctly Victorian in flavor—her story provides a valuable glimpse into a history largely forgotten. (notes, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
A serious-looking 12-year-old girl looks out at the reader from a sepia-toned cover photograph: The "American Girl" of the subtitle was African-American, a member of New York's black middle class. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"She includes capsule biographies of 21 other African-American women, a selected bibliography, and a detailed index. (b&w photos) (Biography. 10-14)"
Bolden's Book of African-American Women (1996, not reviewed) covered 150 ``crusaders, creators, and uplifters''; this one presents a handful of such stalwarts in chapter-length biographies: Ellen Craft, Charlotte Forten GrimkÇ, Mary Fields, Ida B. Wells, and Mary McLeod Bethune from earlier generations; Clara Hale, Leontyne Price, Toni Morrison, Mae C. Jemison, and Jackie Joyner- Kersee of the present century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Tonya Kuper
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"Sweet teen reading for fans of X-Men, Star Trek and all things geeky."
This teen sci-fi debut features a nerdy heroine who can add and subtract objects from reality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP CLOSE: W.E.B. DU BOIS by Tonya Bolden
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Though not one of the stronger entries in this series, it's still a good introduction to an important American figure. (source notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 12 & up)"
W.E.B. Du Bois, one of the leading intellectuals of the 20th century, often declared "the colour line" its defining problem, and his writing remains relevant today. Read full book review >