Search Results: "Tonya Cherie Hegamin"


BOOK REVIEW

WILLOW by Tonya Cherie Hegamin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"A gripping but uneven exploration of the anguishing impact of slavery. (Historical fiction. 14-17)"
An educated slave girl struggles against the confines of race and gender in this coming-of-age story set in 1848 on the Pennsylvania-Maryland border. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

M+O 4EVR by Tonya Cherie Hegamin
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 2, 2008

"Flawed but lovely. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A touching if uneven debut about friendship, family and race. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 12, 2009

"An unflinching depiction of slavery's impact on families, this selection's reassuring message of love shatters all bonds. (author's note, further resources) (Picture book. 6-9)"
Spare language and vibrant art present a powerful message of hope during American slavery, through a mother's sacrifice and her gift of freedom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZINK by Cherie Bennett
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

Basing her novel on a one-page story written by an 11-year-old child shortly before her death from leukemia, Bennett (Life in the Fat Lane, 1998, etc.) creates a tale of courage personified. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOUR AND TWENTY BLACKBIRDS by Cherie Priest
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Wildly contrived and oddly chilly, despite all the ranting and raving."
Girl in search of her true parents unearths disquieting family murders in a murky horror debut set in the mountains of Tennessee. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: May 8, 2007

In the argot of the times, Bolden offers a fascinating study of the girl bands of the Swing era during WWII. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP CLOSE: W.E.B. DU BOIS by Tonya Bolden
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Though not one of the stronger entries in this series, it's still a good introduction to an important American figure. (source notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 12 & up)"
W.E.B. Du Bois, one of the leading intellectuals of the 20th century, often declared "the colour line" its defining problem, and his writing remains relevant today. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HISTORY
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"Valuable and impressive. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
Bolden (Rock of Ages, 2001, etc.) presents an overview about what life has been like through the years for African-American children in the US. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Bolden mentions in the introduction her wish that a book similar to this one had existed when she was 12; of the few available now, Mavis Jukes's It's a Girl Thing (1996, not reviewed) and Judith Harlan's Girl Talk (1997) offer more. (Anthology. 11-14)"
paper 0-517-70936-8 A terribly earnest collection of advice that ranges from preachy to peachy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Tonya Kuper
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"Sweet teen reading for fans of X-Men, Star Trek and all things geeky."
This teen sci-fi debut features a nerdy heroine who can add and subtract objects from reality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FATHOM by Cherie Priest
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Pleasantly offbeat, with plenty of vivid, compelling action sequences, though the plot doesn't withstand too much scrutiny."
Ancient monsters battle it out using humans as pawns in Priest's latest (Not Flesh Nor Feathers, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >