Search Results: "Tonya Engel"


BOOK REVIEW

OUR LADY OF GUADALUPE by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A faithful, if uneven, retelling. (author's note) (Picture book/religion. 7-12)"
Bernier-Grand offers her version of the origins of the popular Mexican shrine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Somber and inspirational. (thumbnail sketches) (Poetry. 10-16)"
The Children's Poet Laureate salutes 15 men and women, including one child, who spoke out and acted for equality and liberty, several at the cost of their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AND THEN ALL HELL BROKE LOOSE by Richard Engel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 19, 2016

"An intriguing journalistic memoir built around a lucid, alarming overview of where the Middle East has been and where it is heading."
A deft personal account of a career spent reporting from the Middle East, witnessing the evaporation of peace and stability. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CIRCLE SONG by Diana Engel
Released: March 1, 1999

A brief, rhythmic text combines lullaby with concept book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"An inspiring tale as well as a tantalizing invitation to visit one of our country's newest 'must see' attractions. (source notes) (Nonfiction. 10-13)"
An account of how the "hundred-year hope" for a National Museum of African American History and Culture came to fruition, with glimpses of the new institution's treasures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PASSIONARIES by Tonya Hurley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"A terrific second volume. (Paranormal thriller. 14 & up)"
Revered by some, hunted by others, Lucy, Cecilia and Agnes may have survived the staggering violence that claimed Sebastian's life, but their hopes of returning to any semblance of normal after the events at Precious Blood are quickly and quite decisively dashed (Precious Blood, 2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 2005

"Although Maritcha comes across as something of a stuffed shirt—her prose is distinctly Victorian in flavor—her story provides a valuable glimpse into a history largely forgotten. (notes, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
A serious-looking 12-year-old girl looks out at the reader from a sepia-toned cover photograph: The "American Girl" of the subtitle was African-American, a member of New York's black middle class. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 1998

"She includes capsule biographies of 21 other African-American women, a selected bibliography, and a detailed index. (b&w photos) (Biography. 10-14)"
Bolden's Book of African-American Women (1996, not reviewed) covered 150 ``crusaders, creators, and uplifters''; this one presents a handful of such stalwarts in chapter-length biographies: Ellen Craft, Charlotte Forten GrimkÇ, Mary Fields, Ida B. Wells, and Mary McLeod Bethune from earlier generations; Clara Hale, Leontyne Price, Toni Morrison, Mae C. Jemison, and Jackie Joyner- Kersee of the present century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Tonya Kuper
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"Sweet teen reading for fans of X-Men, Star Trek and all things geeky."
This teen sci-fi debut features a nerdy heroine who can add and subtract objects from reality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP CLOSE: W.E.B. DU BOIS by Tonya Bolden
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Though not one of the stronger entries in this series, it's still a good introduction to an important American figure. (source notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 12 & up)"
W.E.B. Du Bois, one of the leading intellectuals of the 20th century, often declared "the colour line" its defining problem, and his writing remains relevant today. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: May 8, 2007

In the argot of the times, Bolden offers a fascinating study of the girl bands of the Swing era during WWII. Read full book review >