Search Results: "Tonya Engel"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Somber and inspirational. (thumbnail sketches) (Poetry. 10-16)"
The Children's Poet Laureate salutes 15 men and women, including one child, who spoke out and acted for equality and liberty, several at the cost of their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUR LADY OF GUADALUPE by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A faithful, if uneven, retelling. (author's note) (Picture book/religion. 7-12)"
Bernier-Grand offers her version of the origins of the popular Mexican shrine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOSEPHINA HATES HER NAME by Diana Engel
Released: March 24, 1989

The little alligator girl introduced in Josephina, the Great Collector is back in another illuminating vignette. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHELF-PAPER JUNGLE by Diana Engel
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"A gentle, reassuring message about the durability of friendship. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Another bittersweet little tale of loss and change in a relationship that's been strengthened by shared artistic endeavors (see also Eleanor, Arthur, and Claire, 1992). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC YOGA by Christiane Engel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Still, a sturdy and playful introduction to the popular practice of an ancient tradition. (Board book. 2-4)"
A multihued cast of characters introduce yoga to preschoolers and toddlers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC LOVE by Christiane Engel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2017

"An emotional mess. Here's hoping Engel finds a text worthy of her playful art. (Board book. 18 mos.-4)"
Children and their grown-ups explore the ABCs of love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: May 8, 2007

In the argot of the times, Bolden offers a fascinating study of the girl bands of the Swing era during WWII. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP CLOSE: W.E.B. DU BOIS by Tonya Bolden
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Though not one of the stronger entries in this series, it's still a good introduction to an important American figure. (source notes, bibliography, index) (Biography. 12 & up)"
W.E.B. Du Bois, one of the leading intellectuals of the 20th century, often declared "the colour line" its defining problem, and his writing remains relevant today. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HISTORY
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"Valuable and impressive. (Nonfiction. 8+)"
Bolden (Rock of Ages, 2001, etc.) presents an overview about what life has been like through the years for African-American children in the US. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"Bolden mentions in the introduction her wish that a book similar to this one had existed when she was 12; of the few available now, Mavis Jukes's It's a Girl Thing (1996, not reviewed) and Judith Harlan's Girl Talk (1997) offer more. (Anthology. 11-14)"
paper 0-517-70936-8 A terribly earnest collection of advice that ranges from preachy to peachy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Tonya Kuper
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"Sweet teen reading for fans of X-Men, Star Trek and all things geeky."
This teen sci-fi debut features a nerdy heroine who can add and subtract objects from reality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 8, 2011

"A compassionate guide for parents and educators."
Developmental psychologist Engel (Psychology/Williams Coll.; RealKids: Creating Meaning in Everyday Life, 2005, etc.) presents strategies for navigating the challenges and pitfalls of parenting. Read full book review >