Search Results: "Tracy Dockray"


BOOK REVIEW

MY BUNNY DIARY by Tracy Dockray
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"Young readers will be clamoring for a diary of their own after reading this bunny's story. (Picture book. 3-6)"
This sneak peek into Dora Cottontail's diary reveals exactly how losing her best friend to a doll-playing rival makes her feel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOST AND FOUND PONY by Tracy Dockray
ANIMALS
Released: July 19, 2011

"You can only say, 'Oh, the poor pony!' so many times. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A small pony recounts his melodramatic life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BAREFOOTED, BAD-TEMPERED BABY BRIGADE by Deborah Diesen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 23, 2010

"Slick, with a hollow core—the opposite of babies. (Picture book. 4-6)"
An inexplicably mobilized horde of babies marches—or rather, crawls, pedals and toddles—to Town Hall, with an articulate message that pulls no punches: "We won't get our hair cut. / We won't wear our suncaps. / We won't play with smart toys / to skip us a grade. / We won't like the doctor. / We won't take our naps. / We're a barefooted bad-tempered baby brigade!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPENCER TRACY by James Curtis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 18, 2011

"A monumental, definitive biography of one the finest film actors in the history of the medium."
Spencer Tracy (1900-1967), warts and all. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JAMMY DANCE by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2012

"With the glut of sleepy-time stories out there, this offering does not bring much new to the bedside table. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Going to bed doesn't rank high on most children's lists of favorite activities, and Janni and Dockray's attempt to transform the nighttime routine into a rollicking good time is something of a snooze. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWEET BABY FEET by Margaret O'Hair
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Step on by this one—similar, better books abound. (Picture book. 6 mos.-3)"
So sweet it just might make your teeth hurt, though there's not much to chew on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TUSHY BOOK by Fran Manushkin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"Having finished it once, however, they're unlikely to pick it up again; as one-joke butt books go, this pales in comparison to such derriere-licious treatments as Chicken Cheeks, by Michael Ian Black and illustrated by Kevin Hawkes (2009). (Picture book. 2-5)"
Using bouncy rhyme, Manushkin pays tribute to the virtues of the tush. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAVE NO FEAR! by Nicole C. Kear
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"Hooray for these young friends who work together; this diverse crew will have readers looking forward to more. (Fiction. 4-8)"
Seven-year-old Veronica teams up with friends to help solve classmate Maya's problem, launching a series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AM I BIG OR LITTLE? by Margaret Park Bridges
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2000

"Unabashedly sentimental, this cozy tale is ideal for lap sharing. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A wry look at the unique dichotomy that is part and parcel of early childhood, this playful tale examines that nebulous time period when children are alternately big enough to do some things while too small to do others. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STORY OF TRACY BEAKER by Jacqueline Wilson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 14, 2001

"By the end, Cam has still not come around—but readers may be too annoyed by Tracy's rude, aggressive character to care. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Wilson pushes so much pain between the lines of this portrait of a foster child with the personality of a steamroller that it comes off less a lightweight tribute to human resilience than a pathos-ridden tale of children acting out as they nurse profound inner wounds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAMONA THE BRAVE by Tracy Dockray
illustrated by Tracy Dockray, by Beverly Cleary, illustrated by Alan Tiegreen
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 26, 1975

After a year of kindergarten with Miss Binney who even made the Q in Ramona Quimby look like a kitty cat, Ramona finds it hard to adjust to a drab first grade teacher committed to reading circles and number combinations and avoiding waste. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUNAWAY RALPH by Louis Darling
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1970

"Happily, Ralph will be tearing along in his ping-pong ball crash helmet for a long time, on the elusive trail of peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwiches and boys who go Pb-pb-b-b-b."
The return of The Mouse and the Motorcycle is a departure—from the wide-open corridors of Mountain View Inn to a cage that's also a vantage point in a typical summer camp; but tipping the balance from fantasy to personality doesn't throw freedom rider Ralph. Read full book review >