Search Results: "Uri Ben OZ"


BOOK REVIEW

RADIODURANZ by Uri Ben OZ
Released: March 12, 2012

"Packs too much into too little space but still merits a look, especially for Frank Herbert fanciers."
In first-time author OZ's futuristic sci-fi novel, desert rebels on a ruined planet attempt to manipulate a young historian into destroying the empire. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OZ by L. Frank Baum
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2011

"Since facsimile reproductions are available, readers are advised to click their heels together three times and buy a copy of the original book. (iPad storybook app. 7-12)"
Based on Baum's classic, this abridged version is a lackluster adaptation of the original. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

URI GELLER by Jonathan Margolis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

"An obviously wowed author presents a mostly sympathetic view of the life and times of Uri Geller. (16 photos, not seen)"
A mostly credulous look at the famous Israeli who claims to be able to bend spoons with his mind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AMOS OZ READER by Amos Oz
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 14, 2009

"Not every exposure is perfect, but this literary album contains striking snapshots by a gifted writer with a capacious heart and humane philosophy."
An eclectic selection from the 40-year career of the popular but controversial Israeli novelist and essayist (How to Cure a Fanatic, 2006, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN-GURION by Anita Shapira
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"A brief but full-color biography of an essential leader."
In her valuable new biography, Shapira (Emerita, Humanities/Tel Aviv Univ.; Israel: A History, 2012) provides a concise appraisal of a founding father of the nation that was once only the dream of generations.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKWATER BEN by William Durbin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2003

"Careful research does not automatically equal a great story, and an afterword about logging in the United States still doesn't help this make the cut. (Fiction. 10-12)"
In the winter of 1898, Ben joins his father at a northern Minnesota logging camp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Spyrius Technology: Oz Imagined by John Connor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 5, 2015

"A fun, fast-paced read that is just as much about friendship as it is about futuristic technology."
In this techno-thriller, a group of college students discovers a portal to a virtual world created by a secretive technology company—and a plot to use this world for evil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OPHIE OUT OF OZ by Kathleen O’Dell
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2004

"But overall Ophie's sparkle and depth of character at the author's hand make this an engaging look at the issue of pre-teen identity crisis. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Ophie's family has just moved again, leaving behind Ophie's cherished best friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEN & ZIP by Joanne Linden
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"This boardwalk frolic proves even small fries can solve big mysteries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A beachside lost-and-found adventure, told from a kid's point of view. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRAVE BEN by Mathilde Stein
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2006

"Wry, but unexceptional, text-heavy odyssey, with a nice lesson. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Ben gains confidence with the help of some enchanted forest creatures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BEN by Sarah Ellis
by Sarah Ellis, illustrated by Kim LaFave
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2001

"The sweet after the sour: Perhaps Ben will have that leftover Chinese food as a midnight snack. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's not easy to be darling and genuine, but this story from Ellis manages both without a hitch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HONESTLY BEN by Bill Konigsberg
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 28, 2017

"A fresh, insightful, inspiring take on what it means to come out. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Not your average boarding school drama. Read full book review >