Search Results: "Valeria Docampo"


BOOK REVIEW

STARLIGHT GREY by Liz Flanagan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"A title for confident emerging readers interested in new princess and knight stories. (Early reader/folk tale. 6-8)"
This early-reader adaptation of a Russian story reads like a "Cinderella" tale but casts a third-born son as its protagonist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TIP-TAP POP by Sarah Lynn
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"A successful title in addressing a child's perspective of aging and memory loss, it nicely complements Mem Fox and Julie Vivas's classic Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge. (Picture book. 5-10)"
The process of watching a loved one grow older with significant memory loss is full of unanswered questions—for adults as well as children. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ADVENTURERS by Rachel Elliot
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2016

"Crossing the ocean like the Child and her friends, this mildly precious 2011 tale joins a plethora of similar journeys tempting younger readers to embark on imaginary flights. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Snow outside is no obstacle to world-spanning adventures inside for a child and her toys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DANGEROUSLY EVER AFTER by Dashka Slater
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"Given that feisty, dirt-or-danger-loving princesses are almost a subgenre of princess books, don't choose this one first. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A story about a princess who relishes danger, illustrated with incongruous glossiness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE AT THE END OF LADYBUG LANE by Elise Primavera
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 13, 2012

"Pleasant and amusing, but not quite a hit. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Angelina wants a pet, any pet, but to her neat-freak parents, an animal in the house would be intolerable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB NEVER FORGETS by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2013

"Readers will root for and relate to this fresh-voiced young heroine who joins the likes of Ramona, Judy Moody and Clementine. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb is back with the same spunk and quirky narration that won readers over in her eponymous debut (2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THREE LITTLE TAMALES by Eric A. Kimmel
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2009

"A flavorful addition to the folktale shelf that begs to be shared with a group. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The traditional "Three Little Pigs" gets a southwestern flavor in Kimmel's latest updated tale, a takeoff on his previous The Runaway Tortilla (2000), illustrated by Randy Cecil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona will cheer as new friend Penelope finds what she is looking for. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb's large nose links her to her mysterious grandfather, who, it turns out, is not Graveyard Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GEORGE BALANCHINE’S <i>THE NUTCRACKER</i> by New York City Ballet
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"An appealing production overall and a helpful introduction for children preparing to see the ballet, but it's one that needs some real little girls as artist's models. (Picture book. 4-8)"
This introduction to the ballet closely follows the production of the New York City Ballet, as originated by George Balanchine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 2, 1993

"A contemporary Way of the Pilgrim, first published in Russia in 1989, that's also a profoundly moving look at the state of one brave Russian woman's soul."
A passionate, gorgeously written fictional account of an intellectual Russian woman's journey back to God and the Orthodox Christianity of her ancestors. ``Veronica,'' a widow in her mid-40s, journeys to the ancient monastery of Dzhvari in Georgia with her beloved son Mitya. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN THE HERE AND THERE by Valeria Narbikova
Released: Dec. 28, 1998

"It's an amusing idea, and the story has its moments, but it won't mean much to readers who aren—t thoroughly versed in Slavic studies."
Narbikova's equally daunting companion novel to Day and Night (Dec. 1998): here, she "dramatizes" Russia's experience of perestroika in the 1980s through accounts of protagonist Petia's affairs with three lovers who are, in surreal fashion, identified with eminent figures from Russian literature and history (including Dostoevsky's Raskolnikov, social philosopher Alexander Herzen, the ubiquitous Pushkin, Joseph Stalin, and perhaps Mikhail Gorbachev). Read full book review >