Search Results: "Valorie M. Allen"


BOOK REVIEW

GROWING PAINS - A PLANET IN DISTRESS by Valorie M. Allen
NON-FICTION
Released: March 18, 2010

"An informative, passionate treatise on the impact of population growth."
In her debut, Allen warns against overpopulation and exhausting the Earth's ever-dwindling resources. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING I NEED TO KNOW BEFORE I'M FIVE by Valorie Fisher
ABC BOOKS
Released: July 26, 2011

"Cheerful, if not exactly essential, fun. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Fisher packs a lot—if not exactly everything, or perhaps not even some of the most important things—into this compendium of basic concepts for young children: letters, numbers up to 20, colors, shapes, opposites, seasons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC BOOKS
Released: June 1, 2003

"Impressive and innovative. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Astonishingly arranged assemblages of toys and miniatures described by alliterative nonsense phrases are depicted in brightly colored photographs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREEN AGE OF ASHER WITHEROW by M. Allen Cunningham
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2004

"Disjointed material and unmatured style make for some rough sledding."
Life and death among Welsh immigrant coalminers in 19th-century California. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BIG BROTHER by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2002

"A follow-up for big sisters would be a fine idea. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Written from the point of view of a baby brother, and ostensibly intended for the younger sibling, this paean to older brothers will comfort first-borns who may have trouble adjusting to a new baby, showing them just how much they mean to their newest family members. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN RUBY TRIED TO GROW CANDY by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 8, 2008

"Ruby may have a sweet tooth and a green thumb, but unfortunately the result is less appealing than either. (Picture book. 4-7)"
What kid wouldn't love the idea of growing candy? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN DO IT MYSELF by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 8, 2014

"Ultimately, haphazard structure undermines a visually engaging presentation. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A series of colorful, photographed spreads provides visual instruction and documentation of various tasks and skills for child readers to master. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2006

"This, in combination with the lack of a plot, will limit the audience, especially when said audience usually lets out a collective groan at the mention of word problems. (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-9)"
A collection of unrelated illustrated word problems, this has potential among teachers and the parents of star or struggling math students. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JOHN NEWMAN
by Rhett Morgan

In 1992, John Newman prepared to celebrate finishing his Ph.D., securing a book deal with Warner Books for the release of his dissertation, JFK and Vietnam, and having worked directly with Oliver Stone as consultant on the film JFK. But a brief call from the National Security Agency put all of that in jeopardy. Newman was warned that his ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BIG SISTER by Valorie Fisher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2003

"The carefully worded comments, bolstered by Fisher's exceptional photography, convey a powerful message about the deeply rooted bonds that exist between an older sister and her younger sibling. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Fisher explores the feminine side of sibling relations in this companion title to My Big Brother (2002). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

ALL IS NOT LOST
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Teach Me to Forget by Erica M. Chapman

Cover Story: In the Clouds
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale: 8
Talky Talk: Heavy, Yet Hopeful
Anti-Bonus Factor: Suicide
Relationship Status: Here For You

Trigger Warning: Teach Me to Forget deals with attempted suicide, suicidal thoughts, cutting, severe depression, how suicide affects the people who are ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

CHOOSING YOUR OWN PATH
by Leila Roy

Everyone wants something different from me. It’s like one second, I should be a better dude. I should stop being such a girly douche, and I should just man up. Then, it’s the opposite: I’m too much of a guy, and it’s not right. I should be a girl, because that’s what I’m supposed to be.

The thing is, I’m ...


Read the full post >