Search Results: "Victoria Miles"


BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 15, 2004

"Like the equally outstanding Scientists in the Field series, this should be required reading for children with an active interest in understanding the natural world and our place in it. (photos, bibliography, Web resources) (Nonfiction. 10-12)"
With a beguiling mix of outdoorsy adventure and glimpses of science in the field, Miles takes young naturalists from frozen wastes in Nunavut to a beach in Costa Rica, profiling in parallel ten modern wildlife biologists and the animals they're studying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLD MOTHER BEAR by Victoria Miles
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2007

"A beautiful introduction to these awesome animals. (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-9)"
In the last three years of her life, old mother bear births a final litter, leads them up and down the mountain and through the seasons until they are old enough to go out on their own and then quietly retires to a den to die. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PRIMED AND READY
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

Cover Story: Pretty Deadly
BFF Charm: Caution!
Swoonworthy Scale: 6
Talky Talk: Unreliable Narrator
Bonus Factor: Mysterious Loner Dude
Anti-Bonus Factor: Awful Grownups
Relationship Status: Friends?

Trigger Warning: Violet Grenade features scenes of attempted assault, abuse, and bullying, and touches on very dark themes of death and murder. Some situations might be ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

HEED THE OPENING NOTES
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for This Savage Song (The Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab

Cover Story: Deceptive

BFF Charm: Maybe x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 3

Talky Talk: She Thought, He Thought

Bonus Factors: Paranormal Creatures

Anti-Bonus Factor: Lack of Backstory

Factor: Duology Starter

Relationship Status: Looking Forward to a Second Date

Cover Story: Deceptive

This cover is pretty, and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ETERNITY  by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Fun to be sure, but also a case where shorter might have been sweeter—and more suspenseful. (Horror. 12 & up)"
An overall satisfying conclusion to a tale that imagines the Furies as three beautiful but terrifying supernatural sisters who thrive on vengeance against teens who they feel have done wrong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENVY by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"The Furies make pleasingly vicious villains; horror fans won't want to miss this second in a planned trilogy. (Horror. 12-18)"
The Furies from Greek mythology return to terrorize high school students in this heart-pounding follow-up to 2011's Fury. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

"Fans of Ellen Wittlinger and Gary Soto will be pleased to find them included in this edgy anthology for teens who dare to face the sometimes-ugly truths of life. (Short stories. 12 & up)"
Truth-telling can be dangerous, as anyone knows who's traveled the angst-filled terrain of adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIDEO VENGEANCE by Miles Tripp
Released: Jan. 15, 1990

The most devious, cinematic mind in all of mysterydom is at it again, now with a tale so twisty that London private-eye John Samson (The Cords of Vanity, etc.) has to resolve it several times before the truth will out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 5, 1993

"More an extended and semiliterate fan-gush than a biography; for a far more satisfying look at Burroughs's life, see Ted Morgan's Literary Outlaw (1988). (B&w photographs)"
Fawning and klutzy, with the critical and grammatical skills of the average college sophomore book report (``Just because Burroughs appropriates characters or even chunks of text from someone else's book, this does not mean they are an influence on him, though it probably does mean that he likes their work''), Miles (Allen Ginsberg, 1989) slaps Burroughs's life and spotty works down into a sandwich of no-brainer Zeitgeist-y approval (``Lauren Hutton introduced him on Saturday Night Live in December 1981 as `in my opinion the greatest living writer' ''), buying-in wholesale to Burroughs's off-the-cuff and self-resolving ``theories'' (``legal cannabis was prescribed for paranoia: cannabis is illegal, therefore users suffer from the paranoia that they will get busted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"The author's solid research and use of newly available material exposes the truth of the Potato Famine, the barbaric policies that exacerbated it and the incredible will of the Irish people."
Miles (Environmental Writing/Unity Coll.) builds her story around the Jeanie Johnston, the only ship fleeing the Irish Potato Famine with a 100 percent survival rate in its many Atlantic crossings. Read full book review >