Search Results: "Victoria Miles"


BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 15, 2004

"Like the equally outstanding Scientists in the Field series, this should be required reading for children with an active interest in understanding the natural world and our place in it. (photos, bibliography, Web resources) (Nonfiction. 10-12)"
With a beguiling mix of outdoorsy adventure and glimpses of science in the field, Miles takes young naturalists from frozen wastes in Nunavut to a beach in Costa Rica, profiling in parallel ten modern wildlife biologists and the animals they're studying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLD MOTHER BEAR by Victoria Miles
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2007

"A beautiful introduction to these awesome animals. (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-9)"
In the last three years of her life, old mother bear births a final litter, leads them up and down the mountain and through the seasons until they are old enough to go out on their own and then quietly retires to a den to die. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PRIMED AND READY
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

Cover Story: Pretty Deadly
BFF Charm: Caution!
Swoonworthy Scale: 6
Talky Talk: Unreliable Narrator
Bonus Factor: Mysterious Loner Dude
Anti-Bonus Factor: Awful Grownups
Relationship Status: Friends?

Trigger Warning: Violet Grenade features scenes of attempted assault, abuse, and bullying, and touches on very dark themes of death and murder. Some situations might be ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ETERNITY  by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Fun to be sure, but also a case where shorter might have been sweeter—and more suspenseful. (Horror. 12 & up)"
An overall satisfying conclusion to a tale that imagines the Furies as three beautiful but terrifying supernatural sisters who thrive on vengeance against teens who they feel have done wrong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENVY by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"The Furies make pleasingly vicious villains; horror fans won't want to miss this second in a planned trilogy. (Horror. 12-18)"
The Furies from Greek mythology return to terrorize high school students in this heart-pounding follow-up to 2011's Fury. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

"Fans of Ellen Wittlinger and Gary Soto will be pleased to find them included in this edgy anthology for teens who dare to face the sometimes-ugly truths of life. (Short stories. 12 & up)"
Truth-telling can be dangerous, as anyone knows who's traveled the angst-filled terrain of adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIDEO VENGEANCE by Miles Tripp
Released: Jan. 15, 1990

The most devious, cinematic mind in all of mysterydom is at it again, now with a tale so twisty that London private-eye John Samson (The Cords of Vanity, etc.) has to resolve it several times before the truth will out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER IN RETIREMENT by John Miles
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 17, 1994

"Though the confusion of staged and real mysteries seems falsely promising early on, this turns out to be no different from dozens of other staged-murder-turned-real scenarios."
Everybody who worked with him, and quite a few people who didn't, would've loved to see J. Turner Redwine dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1997

"Haunting and thrilling, this is a beautifully told story of violence and courage, and an unforgettable look behind the yellow crime-scene tape. (Regional author tour)"
A summer spent in the trenches with detectives from the LAPD. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 5, 1993

"More an extended and semiliterate fan-gush than a biography; for a far more satisfying look at Burroughs's life, see Ted Morgan's Literary Outlaw (1988). (B&w photographs)"
Fawning and klutzy, with the critical and grammatical skills of the average college sophomore book report (``Just because Burroughs appropriates characters or even chunks of text from someone else's book, this does not mean they are an influence on him, though it probably does mean that he likes their work''), Miles (Allen Ginsberg, 1989) slaps Burroughs's life and spotty works down into a sandwich of no-brainer Zeitgeist-y approval (``Lauren Hutton introduced him on Saturday Night Live in December 1981 as `in my opinion the greatest living writer' ''), buying-in wholesale to Burroughs's off-the-cuff and self-resolving ``theories'' (``legal cannabis was prescribed for paranoia: cannabis is illegal, therefore users suffer from the paranoia that they will get busted. Read full book review >