Search Results: "Vtec Janus"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

"The immeasurable, well-portrayed bond between grandfather and grandson holds this anecdote-driven story together."
Janus shares the compelling, emotionally charged story of survival and faith that his grandfather, Stanley, relays to him in Poland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KILLING JANUS by Dave Gardner
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 22, 2006

"Gardner's vigorous, pulpy prose and well-wrought action scenes somewhat redeem his shameless wallowing in pornographic violence."
What's worse-a fiendish serial killer or a pitiless mercenary killer? Find out in this gore-splattered thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 23, 1993

In the tradition of Kinsey and Masters & Johnson—an exhaustive survey/interpretation of sex in America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VICTORY ON JANUS by Andre Norton
Released: Sept. 14, 1966

"The writing is in her most involved style and you practically need a machete to break through the underbrush of the Ifts' green, spiritual world."
In a follow-up to Judgement on Janus, this is one of the most illusory, other-dimensional stories from this excellent science fiction writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE JANUS STONE by Elly Griffiths
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 21, 2011

"Ruth's second appearance (The Crossing Places, 2009) is an enthralling page-turner that delights in complex characters."
A forensic archaeologist's murder investigation puts her and her unborn child in mortal danger. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 11, 2012

"Freveletti turbocharges tension to nonstop levels in this Covert-One thriller."
The ninth in Ludlum's Covert-One series (The Ares Decision, 2011, etc.) again joins the perilous adventures of Lt. Col. Jon Smith of the United States Army Medical Research Institute for Infectious Diseases. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Sea of Ithaki by Janus Christo
Released: Dec. 18, 2012

"A promising premise that gets mired in its own self-seriousness."
A retelling of Homer's Odyssey set in a post-apocalyptic Europe overrun with violent gangs and widespread ruin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCESS AND THE ZIZ by Jacqueline Jules
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Kahn's watercolor scenes, which feature a goofy, green-eyed bird with a bright yellow body and oversized red wings, drive the humor in this adequate tale. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Jules's fourth Ziz book continues her versions of Midrash stories featuring the giant bird of Jewish mythology. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HOLIDAY FOR ARI ANT by Sylvia Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 6, 2016

"A nice addition to the holiday shelves. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
Ari Ant lives on the preschool playground and is eager to watch and participate in his own way with the children's activities and celebrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ZIZ AND THE HANUKKAH MIRACLE by Jacqueline Jules
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Jules incorporates the theme of sharing, as well as apologizing, in a droll version of a holiday tale. (Picture book. 4-6)"
The Ziz, a large, somewhat clumsy mythical bird, returns in a Hanukkah story offering an unlikely explanation for how one day's oil lasted eight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S FIRST SIMCHAT TORAH by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"A candy-apple recipe completes the formulaic, if well-meaning, tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Sammy Spider, that curious arachnid who refuses to just spin webs, follows his boy companion Josh to a Simchat Torah service when he gets himself stuck on a syrupy candy apple atop a small Jewish flag. Read full book review >