Search Results: "Vtec Janus"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

"The immeasurable, well-portrayed bond between grandfather and grandson holds this anecdote-driven story together."
Janus shares the compelling, emotionally charged story of survival and faith that his grandfather, Stanley, relays to him in Poland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 23, 1993

In the tradition of Kinsey and Masters & Johnson—an exhaustive survey/interpretation of sex in America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S NEW FRIEND by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"This is a book without conflict, and that's the last thing a child needs. (Picture book. 2-8)"
Sammy Spider is perfectly safe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Sea of Ithaki by Janus Christo
Released: Dec. 18, 2012

"A promising premise that gets mired in its own self-seriousness."
A retelling of Homer's Odyssey set in a post-apocalyptic Europe overrun with violent gangs and widespread ruin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PRINCESS AND THE ZIZ by Jacqueline Jules
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Kahn's watercolor scenes, which feature a goofy, green-eyed bird with a bright yellow body and oversized red wings, drive the humor in this adequate tale. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Jules's fourth Ziz book continues her versions of Midrash stories featuring the giant bird of Jewish mythology. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ZIZ AND THE HANUKKAH MIRACLE by Jacqueline Jules
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Jules incorporates the theme of sharing, as well as apologizing, in a droll version of a holiday tale. (Picture book. 4-6)"
The Ziz, a large, somewhat clumsy mythical bird, returns in a Hanukkah story offering an unlikely explanation for how one day's oil lasted eight. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HOLIDAY FOR ARI ANT by Sylvia Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 6, 2016

"A nice addition to the holiday shelves. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
Ari Ant lives on the preschool playground and is eager to watch and participate in his own way with the children's activities and celebrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S FIRST TASTE OF HANUKKAH by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 9, 2015

"A nice addition to the holiday collection. (Cookbook. 5-10)"
Sammy Spider and his human friend Josh return in a Hanukkah kid-oriented cookbook. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMMY SPIDER'S FIRST SIMCHAT TORAH by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"A candy-apple recipe completes the formulaic, if well-meaning, tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Sammy Spider, that curious arachnid who refuses to just spin webs, follows his boy companion Josh to a Simchat Torah service when he gets himself stuck on a syrupy candy apple atop a small Jewish flag. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAMAR'S SUKKAH by Ellie B. Gellman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"An acceptable update with a timeless message. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-5)"
A joint neighborhood effort brings collaboration and cooperation between a young child and her older friends. Read full book review >