Search Results: "W.A. Holmes"


BOOK REVIEW

ANGEL FALLS by W.A. Holmes
Released: March 27, 2012

"A techno/supernatural mystery that doesn't demand too much of the reader."
A teenage boy must decipher his mysterious past as he battles a supernatural evil that threatens not just his town, but possibly the world, in Holmes' debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COWARDS by W.A. Burgess
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 18, 1997

"There's little else to distinguish this sordid debut."
The latest example of that now-certified genre—the drug addict's purported memoir—Burgess's debut shares some of the raw energy of Trainspotting (novel and movie), but none of Irvine Welsh's verbal spunk. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A PRAYER JOURNAL by Flannery O'Connor
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 12, 2013

"There's metaphysical mystery at the heart of this short journal, followed by a facsimile of her handwritten notebook, as well as the seeds of the spiritual life force that coursed through her fiction."
A devotional journal from the author's student days finds her grappling with issues of Christian spirituality that would soon inform her fiction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DISTANCE BETWEEN LOST AND FOUND by Kathryn Holmes
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Vivid, gripping and believable from beginning to end—a strong debut. (Fiction. 13-16)"
Hallelujah thought that if she kept her head down, pastor's son Luke, the popular boy she once crushed on, would stop bullying her and spreading humiliating lies about what happened between them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Throw in some smugglers, a few villagers, and a trusty stable lad, and you've got yourself a tale that quite a few readers will like, but shouldn't. (Fiction. 10-15)"
An archetype of children's horse literature is the child (abused/ignored/misunderstood, preferably also an orphan) who rescues and tames the untamable horse (abused/misunderstood/ignored) and by doing so achieves glory. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 29, 2013

"Meticulous history illuminated and animated by personal passion, carried aloft by volant prose."
The biographer of two great Romantics (Shelley and Coleridge) relates yet another romantic tale—the story of the human passion to fly up, up and away in a beautiful balloon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NONSENSE by Jamie Holmes
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"The author's bright anecdotes and wide-ranging research stories are certain to please many readers."
New America Foundation Future Tense fellow Holmes, a former research coordinator in the department of economics at Harvard, debuts with a provocative analysis of the roots of uncertainty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Daddy Will Fix It by Arlie Holmes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2015

"A bleak book with a sympathetic protagonist."
A debut novel about the trials and tribulations of a gifted, sensitive boy growing up in the bleak, unforgiving environment of the Virginia Mountains. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 9, 2007

"Almost by itself, this thin historical record makes the case for Baartman's wholesale exploitation, and Holmes would have done better to let that silence speak rather than freight the final chapters with a hopelessly muddled 'significance' the story will not bear out."
The story of Saartjie Baartman, a kidnapped South African who briefly created a sensation in Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRACKTOWN SUMMER by Elizabeth Holmes
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2009

"Good, solid and real. (Fiction. 10-14)"
The seven houses that make up Tracktown are sandwiched between railroad tracks and a lake. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 27, 2009

"Careful science meets good writing—a pleasure for fans of Lewis Thomas, Natalie Angier and other interpreters of scientific fact."
A pellucid spin through the contours of the human brain and the folds of the human body. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"An entertaining and extremely helpful resource for parents trying to find their balance in hectic circumstances."
A guide aimed at helping parents take care of their families by first taking care of themselves. Read full book review >