Search Results: "WARE'S ME"


BOOK REVIEW

YELLOW, RED, BLUE AND IF I GET ANGRY GREY by Alessandro Sanna
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 22, 2013

"A rewarding alternative for children who find the digital edition of Hervé Tullet's Press Here (2012) too relentlessly inscrutable. (iPad play app. 4-8)"
This inventive pairing of colors with musical riffs offers almost unlimited opportunities for visual and aural experimentation—plus jigsaw puzzles for more structured entertainment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OSWALD THE BIG by Alessandra  Henke
by Alessandra Henke, illustrated by Marta Dal Corso, developed by WARE'S ME
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 23, 2012

"Oswald seems likable enough, but aside from a few design flourishes, his story doesn't end up living large in the imagination the way a memorable hippo's should. (iPad storybook app. 2-6)"
A lazy hippo learns to lead a more active life through his love of dance in this cheery but ultimately middling story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A RIDE WITH ALIENS by Emanuele  Cirani
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 15, 2012

"It's a strikingly beautiful and strange package; though wordy, it's still a worthwhile trip. (iPad storybook app. 4-10)"
Visually arresting aliens and planetary vistas make this app worth a visit, but plodding text and uninspired narration make the trip less awe-inspiring that it could have been. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADE ME by Jennifer Brown
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"An intense, often exasperating, sometimes-thrilling series opener. (Thriller. 12-18)"
An 18-year-old girl decides to investigate an attempted murder on her own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IGNITE ME by Tahereh Mafi
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Well, most people are probably reading these books for Warner anyway. (Science fiction. 12 & up)"
Fighting an oppressive regime is an afterthought in this conclusion to Mafi's romantic trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME! by Philip Waechter
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2005

"Too bad this isn't funny or sarcastic enough for adults to have a little giggle over their weaknesses. (Picture book. Adult)"
Miniature-sized, this self-esteem gift book appropriate for adults is inappropriate for a children's audience despite the simple illustrations and title. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY ME AND THE GOLDEN MONKEY by Tim Roland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"While this series doesn't have aspirations to high literature, it does fulfill an important developmental reading need with high-interest humor and adventure. (Adventure. 6-8)"
Monkey business allows young children to make a serious transition from early readers to chapter books. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUST ME by Romily Bernard
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 22, 2016

"For die-hard fans of the first two books. (Thriller. 12-16)"
Wick's problems come down to deciding whom she can trust in this conclusion to the trilogy begun with Find Me (2013) and continued in Remember Me (2014). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY ME AND THE PET SHOW by Timothy Roland
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 25, 2014

"A silly story with even sillier comic-book-style illustrations for transitioning readers. (Early reader. 6-8)"
Monkey business continues in this second installment of the Monkey Me series for transitional and early readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME, ME, ME by Annika   Dunklee
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"A pleasing morality tale on the importance of friendship and teamwork. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Bespectacled, brown-skinned English-speaker Annie, white Swede Lillemor, and dark-complected Francophone Lilianne are back again as Dunklee and Smith team up in this follow-up to Me Too! (2015). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HELP ME LEARN ADDITION by Jean Marzollo
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"This is not a book that kids could (or would) pick up on their own without guidance, and teachers are likely still to prefer to use old favorites that do it well. (Math picture book. 3-7)"
Marzollo's second Help Me Learn title builds on the first (Help Me Learn Numbers 0-20, 2011) but unfortunately does not fix its rhythm and rhyme flaws. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 11, 2015

"Given the competing noise about parenting, this book should be required reading for parents."
A guide to stopping the helicoptering, lawn-mowing, and overindulging that can lead to entitled, self-centered thinking in children. Read full book review >