Search Results: "Walter A. Weisskopf"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 15, 1993

"Thirty-two pages of maps and photos—not seen)."
Generation-spanning tales of the North Pacific from a Pulitzer-winning historian who's also a gifted storyteller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 9, 2012

"A likable memoir, full of the author's love of life, even if it often covers familiar territory."
Walter's debut memoir, set in post-World War II America, delves into the importance of faith and self-reliance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 2, 2004

"A first-rate history, freshly told, with every promise of becoming a standard text."
American history as epic: the first volume of a projected trilogy by a Pulitzer Prize-winning historian. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 11, 2008

"Provocative and richly detailed—a welcome contribution to popular history."
A broad-ranging portrait of America in a time of torment, continuing Pulitzer Prize winner McDougall's (History/Univ. of Pennsylvania; Freedom Just Around the Corner: A New American History: 1585-1828, 2004, etc.) projected trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 29, 1997

"Not pitched on the epic scale of McDougall's earlier work, this is a subtle, scholarly call to forsake ideology in foreign policy in favor of true national self-interest."
If American diplomacy can seem confusing to foreigners, that is because it partakes of eight different traditions, suggests Pulitzer Prizewinning historian McDougall (Univ. of Pennsylvania; Let the Sea Make a Noise, 1993, etc.) in this perceptive study. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 22, 2016

"A book remarkable for its depth, breadth, and intellectual daring."
A Pulitzer Prize-winning historian examines the fanatical secular religion of American exceptionalism and why it is leading government officials and the electorate astray in an increasingly violent world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"An unflinching depiction of the aftermath of war and of the spirit of those who live through it."
Stark, candid memoir by a Time correspondent severely injured while covering the war in Iraq. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, SEYMOUR! by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Another mesmerizing outing from the sultan of seek-and-find. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Gatefolds expose sudden calamities, eye-widening surprises, and—of course—fresh cascades of small toys, charms, beads, and found bric-a-brac in 10 teeming scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE?  TOYLAND EXPRESS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"No puzzle here—these well-designed scenes are another success from the picture-challenge master. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Complex seek-and-find images provide an intriguing backdrop for the story of a tenacious toy train. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALTER WICK'S OPTICAL TRICKS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A book to elicit appreciative murmurs at story hours, and return visits for closer looks. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
This challenging book of optical illusions from Wick (A Drop of Water, 1997, etc.) will leave some readers gasping in awe, and others befuddled, as they ought to be by such visual trickery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >