Search Results: "Walter Bonatti"


BOOK REVIEW

THE MOUNTAINS OF MY LIFE by Walter Bonatti
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 9, 2001

"Ably translated and edited by Australian climber Marshall, this will be of great interest to mountaineering buffs, and to armchair adventurers generally."
Well-made compendium of adventures—and misadventures—on some of the world's highest peaks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, SEYMOUR! by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Another mesmerizing outing from the sultan of seek-and-find. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Gatefolds expose sudden calamities, eye-widening surprises, and—of course—fresh cascades of small toys, charms, beads, and found bric-a-brac in 10 teeming scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE?  TOYLAND EXPRESS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"No puzzle here—these well-designed scenes are another success from the picture-challenge master. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Complex seek-and-find images provide an intriguing backdrop for the story of a tenacious toy train. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALTER WICK'S OPTICAL TRICKS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A book to elicit appreciative murmurs at story hours, and return visits for closer looks. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
This challenging book of optical illusions from Wick (A Drop of Water, 1997, etc.) will leave some readers gasping in awe, and others befuddled, as they ought to be by such visual trickery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLUB DREAD by Walter Sorrells
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2006

"For fans and thrill seekers. (Fiction. YA)"
Music, murder, car chases and a secret society get blended together as this thriller series continues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

47 by Walter Mosley
FANTASY
Released: May 4, 2005

"Mostly, however, this is a flawed, didactic exploration of the nature of freedom, juxtaposing the brutality of 19th-century American slavery with the society of a faraway planet where skin color is irrelevant because 'behind all existence there is one great mind.' (Fiction. 12-16)"
Forty-seven is the name and number of a 14-year-old slave working on Master Tobias's Georgia plantation in 1832. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DOWRY by Walter Keady
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 20, 2007

"Charming Celtic comedy of manners."
Idealistic Irish priest anxious to repopulate his parish hatches a scheme to encourage local youths to get married rather than emigrate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST AMERICAN SHORT STORIES 2003 by Walter Mosley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 10, 2003

"Not bad, but far from the best—and not even the best anthology to have appeared this year."
The latest BASS, while full of talent, is ultimately an echo of successes past. Read full book review >