Search Results: "Walter De Hoog"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 29, 2012

"A lush, unsparing narrative that honors history and emotion."
This meandering but mesmerizing memoir details the political and social turmoil of World War II through the eyes of an intrepid courier for the headquarters of the Italian resistance movement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"A dense and closely argued piece of work. Since van de Leur often proceeds by feel—many original scores are lost—his attributions will doubtless be richly provocative to jazz fans. (Inventory of scores, compositions, and works on record)"
Jazz musician and historian van de Leur subjects Billy Strayhorn's musical arrangements to deep scrutiny and credibly finds them original, undervalued, frequently misattributed, and tasting of the sublime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHORT STORIES 1927-1956 by Walter de la Mare
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2002

"Unjustly forgotten, de la Mare is well-served by the series, and the prospect of a deserved revival becomes that much more likely."
Best known for his poetry, British author de la Mare (1873-1956), widely admired in his own day, had largely dropped from view until the publication last year of the first of three volumes currently reprinting his prose, Short Stories: 1895-1926. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TURNIP by Walter de la Mare
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"It's good to have a sampling of his worthy collection available in such attractive format. (Fiction. 6-10)"
From the poet's collection of literary retellings (Told Again, 1927, o.p.), the first half of one of the Grimms' shorter tales, extended into a classic story about two brothers, ``as different as chalk from cheese.'' The rich one is ``a mean and merciless greedyguts''; the poor, a paragon of generosity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

CHRISTOPHER DE HAMEL
by Brianna Jewell

“Stick your nose into other people’s business and it’s considered rude,” Christopher de Hamel says, “but stick your nose far enough back and it’s considered history.” In his latest book, Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts: Twelve Journeys into the Medieval World, de Hamel turns what he sees as the voyeuristic pleasure of discovering secrets about others’ lives into historical ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLOSE TO THE WIND by Jon Walter
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 26, 2015

"A good choice for sensitive children not ready for more pointed accounts. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Walter's debut novel is a profile of innocence maintained in the face of war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY by Walter Oleksy
NONFICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1996

"Nonetheless, this a good look at a gargantuan subject. (b&w photos, index, not seen, glossary, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 10+)"
A megatopic is broken down into bite-size, digestible pieces for readers interested in a comprehensive overview of a subject that is in constant flux. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISLAND OF THE GREAT YELLOW OX by Walter Macken
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 26, 1991

Fortunately, when Conor (an Irish boy), his toddler brother Babo, and two American acquaintances are caught in a sudden storm, they are swept to Ox Island. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ESCAPADE by Walter Satterthwait
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 16, 1995

"Style is everything here, as the author (The Hanged Man, 1993, etc.) leisurely spins humor, history, showbiz, sex, and detection into a thoroughly civilized, thoroughly pleasurable entertainment."
It's 1921, and Sir Robert Purleigh is hosting a weekend party at the family estate in Devon. Read full book review >