Search Results: "Walter De Hoog"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 29, 2012

"A lush, unsparing narrative that honors history and emotion."
This meandering but mesmerizing memoir details the political and social turmoil of World War II through the eyes of an intrepid courier for the headquarters of the Italian resistance movement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"A dense and closely argued piece of work. Since van de Leur often proceeds by feel—many original scores are lost—his attributions will doubtless be richly provocative to jazz fans. (Inventory of scores, compositions, and works on record)"
Jazz musician and historian van de Leur subjects Billy Strayhorn's musical arrangements to deep scrutiny and credibly finds them original, undervalued, frequently misattributed, and tasting of the sublime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHORT STORIES 1927-1956 by Walter de la Mare
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2002

"Unjustly forgotten, de la Mare is well-served by the series, and the prospect of a deserved revival becomes that much more likely."
Best known for his poetry, British author de la Mare (1873-1956), widely admired in his own day, had largely dropped from view until the publication last year of the first of three volumes currently reprinting his prose, Short Stories: 1895-1926. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TURNIP by Walter de la Mare
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"It's good to have a sampling of his worthy collection available in such attractive format. (Fiction. 6-10)"
From the poet's collection of literary retellings (Told Again, 1927, o.p.), the first half of one of the Grimms' shorter tales, extended into a classic story about two brothers, ``as different as chalk from cheese.'' The rich one is ``a mean and merciless greedyguts''; the poor, a paragon of generosity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMEDIATE PROSPECT OF BEING HANGED by Walter Walker
Released: April 18, 1989

Sex, murder, and politics wheeze, gasp, and seethe in a funny and very sharp mystery set in the Boston exurbs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY NAME IS NOT FRIDAY by Jon Walter
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"A heartbreaking story about family, justice, and the resilience of the human spirit. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
Samuel, a freeborn black orphan, is sold into slavery during the height of the Civil War. Read full book review >