Search Results: "Walter G. Klimczak"


BOOK REVIEW

FALLING IN THE GARDEN by Walter G. Klimczak
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 6, 1936

"The best kind of science fiction: The science sows the seeds, but the story grows the garden."
A teenager communicates with a girl from the past through the mystical power of The Meadow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DADDY WILL BE THERE by Lois G. Grambling
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1998

"The illustrations confirm that sorrow; even the cover painting looks like a snapshot encased in ice. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Grambling (Can I Have a Stegosaurus, Mom? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, SEYMOUR! by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Another mesmerizing outing from the sultan of seek-and-find. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Gatefolds expose sudden calamities, eye-widening surprises, and—of course—fresh cascades of small toys, charms, beads, and found bric-a-brac in 10 teeming scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE?  TOYLAND EXPRESS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"No puzzle here—these well-designed scenes are another success from the picture-challenge master. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Complex seek-and-find images provide an intriguing backdrop for the story of a tenacious toy train. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALTER WICK'S OPTICAL TRICKS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A book to elicit appreciative murmurs at story hours, and return visits for closer looks. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
This challenging book of optical illusions from Wick (A Drop of Water, 1997, etc.) will leave some readers gasping in awe, and others befuddled, as they ought to be by such visual trickery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLUB DREAD by Walter Sorrells
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2006

"For fans and thrill seekers. (Fiction. YA)"
Music, murder, car chases and a secret society get blended together as this thriller series continues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

47 by Walter Mosley
FANTASY
Released: May 4, 2005

"Mostly, however, this is a flawed, didactic exploration of the nature of freedom, juxtaposing the brutality of 19th-century American slavery with the society of a faraway planet where skin color is irrelevant because 'behind all existence there is one great mind.' (Fiction. 12-16)"
Forty-seven is the name and number of a 14-year-old slave working on Master Tobias's Georgia plantation in 1832. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ESCAPE FROM FILM SCHOOL by Richard Walter
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1999

"Not especially funny, and not much fun."
The chairman of UCLA's film- and television-writing program debuts with (what else?) the story of a hapless film student who stumbles into fortune and, eventually, modest fame. Read full book review >