Search Results: "Walter Jekyll"


BOOK REVIEW

I HAVE A NEWS by Walter Jekyll
NATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"The sheer exuberance of both the lyrics and the illustrations generally need no explanation. (Music; notes on rhymes) (Folklore/Poetry/Picture book. 5+)"
A refreshing realism pervades this lyrical collection of Jamaican folk tunes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, SEYMOUR! by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Another mesmerizing outing from the sultan of seek-and-find. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Gatefolds expose sudden calamities, eye-widening surprises, and—of course—fresh cascades of small toys, charms, beads, and found bric-a-brac in 10 teeming scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE SEYMOUR? by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2004

"This is more than a seek-and-find; it's a charming, interactive novelty. (discussion guide) (Picture book. 3-6)"
The creator of the I Spy series is a genius at designing and photographing tiny landscapes and kaleidoscopic dioramas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMEDIATE PROSPECT OF BEING HANGED by Walter Walker
Released: April 18, 1989

Sex, murder, and politics wheeze, gasp, and seethe in a funny and very sharp mystery set in the Boston exurbs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY NAME IS NOT FRIDAY by Jon Walter
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"A heartbreaking story about family, justice, and the resilience of the human spirit. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
Samuel, a freeborn black orphan, is sold into slavery during the height of the Civil War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTION by Walter Satterthwait
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 6, 2006

"Satterthwait, whose specialty is witty period pieces (Cavalcade, 2005, etc.), doesn't bring much edge to this anthology of scenes from your favorite suspense films (Psycho, Speed, The Silence of the Lambs, etc.). The results fall short of perfection."
Tired of seeing lissome females menaced by serial killers? Here's an equal-opportunity psycho who targets plus-size victims. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STARS AND SWASTIKAS by Walter Schroder
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 1992

"Solid, fact-oriented, and conventional, Schroder is by no means a born writer, but those interested in the period will find his reminiscences worthwhile."
Unsophisticated yet engrossing memoir about a remarkable childhood and adolescence. Read full book review >