Search Results: "Walter Johnson"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 26, 2013

"A scholarly work that will appeal to history buffs who can navigate the often academic prose, economic theory and statistics mixed with fascinating anecdotes, grim accounts of slave life and a convincing argument for plantation slavery's essential role in the 19th century's burgeoning industrial capitalism."
A dense analysis of pre-Civil War Mississippi Valley commerce, culture and society. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, SEYMOUR! by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Another mesmerizing outing from the sultan of seek-and-find. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Gatefolds expose sudden calamities, eye-widening surprises, and—of course—fresh cascades of small toys, charms, beads, and found bric-a-brac in 10 teeming scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE?  TOYLAND EXPRESS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"No puzzle here—these well-designed scenes are another success from the picture-challenge master. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Complex seek-and-find images provide an intriguing backdrop for the story of a tenacious toy train. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALTER WICK'S OPTICAL TRICKS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A book to elicit appreciative murmurs at story hours, and return visits for closer looks. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
This challenging book of optical illusions from Wick (A Drop of Water, 1997, etc.) will leave some readers gasping in awe, and others befuddled, as they ought to be by such visual trickery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE SEYMOUR? by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2004

"This is more than a seek-and-find; it's a charming, interactive novelty. (discussion guide) (Picture book. 3-6)"
The creator of the I Spy series is a genius at designing and photographing tiny landscapes and kaleidoscopic dioramas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMEDIATE PROSPECT OF BEING HANGED by Walter Walker
Released: April 18, 1989

Sex, murder, and politics wheeze, gasp, and seethe in a funny and very sharp mystery set in the Boston exurbs. Read full book review >