Search Results: "Walter Moers"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LABYRINTH OF DREAMING BOOKS by Walter Moers
Released: Nov. 8, 2012

"A beguiling, bookish entertainment that ends on a cliffhanger promising—well, the prospect of many sequels to come."
Biblionauts of the world, unite—German fabulist Moers (City of Dreaming Books, 2007, etc.) is back with another goofy epic from the land of living books. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RUMO AND HIS MIRACULOUS ADVENTURES by Walter Moers
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 7, 2006

"Read it as allegory. Read it as a fairy tale. Whatever, it's amusing—but still too long by half."
An overstuffed confection that threatens to collapse under its own heft. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A WILD RIDE THROUGH THE NIGHT by Walter Moers
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"For the stout of heart or the low of blood sugar only. Nice illustrations, though."
More loopy, goopy modern mythologizing from German fabulist Moers (The City of Dreaming Books, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CITY OF DREAMING BOOKS by Walter Moers
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"'Tonstant Weader fwowed up,' wrote Dorothy Parker after reading Winnie the Pooh. She had it easy. For the innocent of heart, unsullied by taste."
Sure, Larry McMurtry's got his own book town in Texas, and then there's Sedbergh and Hay-on-Wye over England way. But none of them can compare to the setting of Moers's (Rumo and His Miraculous Adventures, 2006, etc.) semifabulous tale of treasures hidden. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUGO'S BABY BROTHER by Hermann Moers
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1992

"Wilko's glowing double spreads, rendered in pastels, are lovely—rich color; evanescent, lightly sketched background details; and the delightful lions, who express subtle human emotion with every whisker, leap, and glance. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Sibling rivalry, lion-style: Hugo is not prepared to be supplanted, but his mother is cheerfully firm and his dad unsympathetic when he decides to ``do something really terrible''—like reaching for a poisonous snake; still, there are lions his own age to play with, and in the end he makes friends with little Sasha and even rescues him from an elephant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVIE TO THE RESCUE! by Hermann Moers
by Hermann Moers, illustrated by Gusti, translated by Marianne Martens
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 1997

"Gusti makes wonderful use of light and shadow—especially effective touches are Evie's yellow slicker reflected in a puddle, and the long shadow preceding the lion cub into Evie's room. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Moers (Hugo's Baby Brother, 1992, etc.) comes up with an adventure that seems perfectly in line with what children dream up themselves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LULLABY FOR A NEWBORN KING by Wilkon
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Oct. 15, 1991

"The story includes some well-chosen realistic details that give it immediacy, but what's special here is Wilko's luminous art in muted, subtly modulated tones enlivened by a sense of urgency as peasants (they do look European) and beasts hurry to the stable. (Picture book. 3-8)"
An internationally known Polish illustrator produces a variant on a familiar theme. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLOSE TO THE WIND by Jon Walter
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 26, 2015

"A good choice for sensitive children not ready for more pointed accounts. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Walter's debut novel is a profile of innocence maintained in the face of war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY by Walter Oleksy
NONFICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 1996

"Nonetheless, this a good look at a gargantuan subject. (b&w photos, index, not seen, glossary, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 10+)"
A megatopic is broken down into bite-size, digestible pieces for readers interested in a comprehensive overview of a subject that is in constant flux. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ISLAND OF THE GREAT YELLOW OX by Walter Macken
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 26, 1991

Fortunately, when Conor (an Irish boy), his toddler brother Babo, and two American acquaintances are caught in a sudden storm, they are swept to Ox Island. Read full book review >