Search Results: "Walter Sorrells"


BOOK REVIEW

CLUB DREAD by Walter Sorrells
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2006

"For fans and thrill seekers. (Fiction. YA)"
Music, murder, car chases and a secret society get blended together as this thriller series continues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ERRATUM by Walter Sorrells
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

This careening fantasy admixes two outsider seventh-graders, a mutable book, theoretical physics, renascent magic, battles of will and destiny's role—plotted elaborately enough to make the drowsiest Potterite awaken. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST SHOT by Walter Sorrells
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Exciting but ultimately unsatisfying. (Fiction. YA)"
David Crandall thinks his father murdered his mother in this taut but rather trite boarding-school thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SILENT ROOM by Walter Sorrells
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2006

"This one's a thriller that really thrills. (Fiction. YA)"
With a plot that mirrors April Henry's rather shallow Shock Point (February 2006), Sorrells delivers a more convincing portrait of a teen victimized by a new stepfather and placed in a school that is a virtual prison, complete with torture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 11, 2002

"'Real life ain't an Agatha Christie novel,' Miles sagely tells Charley after the final bell. And this case, which saves all its surprises and reversals for the very last minute, is more like a well-known Christie short story, first published in, say, 1949."
Legal eagle Coughlin (The Judgment, 1997, etc.) has been dead nearly ten years, but his best-loved creation, alcoholic defense attorney Charley Sloan, lives on courtesy of Sorrells (Power of Attorney, not reviewed, etc.) in this undernourished courtroom drama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMEDIATE PROSPECT OF BEING HANGED by Walter Walker
Released: April 18, 1989

Sex, murder, and politics wheeze, gasp, and seethe in a funny and very sharp mystery set in the Boston exurbs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY NAME IS NOT FRIDAY by Jon Walter
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"A heartbreaking story about family, justice, and the resilience of the human spirit. (Historical fiction. 12-16)"
Samuel, a freeborn black orphan, is sold into slavery during the height of the Civil War. Read full book review >