Search Results: "Walter Wick"


BOOK REVIEW

WALTER WICK'S OPTICAL TRICKS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A book to elicit appreciative murmurs at story hours, and return visits for closer looks. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-10)"
This challenging book of optical illusions from Wick (A Drop of Water, 1997, etc.) will leave some readers gasping in awe, and others befuddled, as they ought to be by such visual trickery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE?  TOYLAND EXPRESS by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"No puzzle here—these well-designed scenes are another success from the picture-challenge master. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Complex seek-and-find images provide an intriguing backdrop for the story of a tenacious toy train. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, SEYMOUR! by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Another mesmerizing outing from the sultan of seek-and-find. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Gatefolds expose sudden calamities, eye-widening surprises, and—of course—fresh cascades of small toys, charms, beads, and found bric-a-brac in 10 teeming scenes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? by Walter Wick
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 2001

"So sharpen your visual acuity and be prepared to be absorbed and engrossed in this amazing entertainment that will keep espyers returning again and again. (Picture book. All ages)"
Fans of Wick's and Jean Marzollo's I Spy series will be thrilled with a new challenge while newcomers will become immediate devotees with this dozen of picture puzzles to search and solve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF WATER by Walter Wick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1997

"In these pages, the prosaic becomes wondrous as readers see the marvels of H2O. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-10)"
Something as simple as a drop of water hardly seems the stuff of extraordinary science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAN YOU SEE SEYMOUR? by Walter Wick
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2004

"This is more than a seek-and-find; it's a charming, interactive novelty. (discussion guide) (Picture book. 3-6)"
The creator of the I Spy series is a genius at designing and photographing tiny landscapes and kaleidoscopic dioramas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALTER by Barbara Wersba
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 30, 2005

"Funny and poignant by turns, here's a sweetly quirky love story of letters. (Fiction. 8-12)"
A small but very nearly perfect gem depicts the growing friendship between a literarily-minded rat and an aging author of children's books. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"This volume covers much of the same holiday territory as I Spy Christmas by Marzollo and Wick (1992), but fans of this sort of picture puzzle will welcome another challenging Christmas brainteaser. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-7)"
The co-creator of the "I Spy" series uses a similar format in this holiday offering full of glowing photographs of tiny toys and sweet treats. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I SPY FUNHOUSE by Jean Marzollo
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1993

"Extra credit riddles,'' a challenge to readers to concoct more of their own, and notes on how the pictures were made are fine bonuses. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Following the success of the first I Spy book (1992), 13 more artfully contrived photos with rhyming ``riddles'' about objects that are not so much hidden as concealed by the bright, distracting diversity of their surroundings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 7, 2008

"Able tribute to a boundary-smashing activist."
Compact, insightful biography seeks to restore the historical importance of the energetic, light-skinned NAACP secretary whose leadership laid the groundwork for the civil-rights movement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALTER WAS WORRIED by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"Opportunities for read-aloud interaction abound here; children may enjoy spelling out the face-words or discussing how they feel in different climatic scenarios, from puzzling fog to shocking lightning to frightening thunder. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Moods can change as quickly as the weather, and this innovative concept book cleverly illustrates the range and volatility of both. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WALTER LIPPMANN by Craufurd D. Goodwin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"Opening up new perspectives on past political debates, Goodwin delivers a finely limned portrait of a man whose career was based on standards and purposes that seem to have largely disappeared from public life."
An insightful biography of esteemed journalist and philosopher Walter Lippmann (1889-1974). Read full book review >